Swallows drop points on Kerr's debut


Swallows FC surrendered a two-goal lead to draw 2-2 against Golden Arrows in their final DStv Premiership clash of the year on Wednesday evening.

Swallows finally had coach Dylan Kerr on the bench and give starts to goalkeeper Thela Ngobeni, Katlego Mohamme and Thabo Mosadi, whereas Arrows dropped Siboniso Conco to the bench.

It took the Dube Birds 20 minutes to register the breakthrough courtesy of Kamohelo Mahlatsi, who finished off a rebound from the post following Mwape Musonda’s initial strike.

Abafana Besthende immediately went in search of the equaliser through Michael Gumede from smart build-up between Nduduzo Sibiya, Nqubeko Dlamini and Siphelele Magubane.

Then a more clearer chance followed Abafana Besthende moments apart when a ball from Pule Mmodi put Gumede level with Ngobeni, who pulled off a stunning save to parry the forward.

Those missed opportunities were punished eight minutes to halftime after a corner from Fawaaz Basadien spotted Musonda and he applied a smart finish from the near post.

Scroll through the gallery to see eight of the retired jersey numbers in the PSL


Arrows nearly hit back in the closing seconds to the break from a free-kick on the edge of the area after a foul on Mmodi, but Ngobeni produced a double save.

The Dube Birds’ start to the second period came with an introduction too when Sipho Sibiya replaced Wandisile Letlabika, who was stretchered off right at the interval.

Abafana Besthende made full use of the host’ misfortune four minutes from resumption as Gumede combined with Mmodi’s teasing ball in the area to head past Ngobeni.

However, Abafana Besthende made their bright spell count with under 15 minutes to go when Gumede finished off a cutback from a short free-kick by Lindokuhle Mtshali.

Arrows looked on course to complete the turnaround courtesy of Mutizwa from Andile Fikizolo’s pass, but Ngobeni smothered the Zimbabwean from a one-on-one position.

There were chances on either side well inside the closing periods, but the two sides opted to settle for a share of the spoils instead.

Confirmed line-ups:

Swallows: Ngobeni, Mokoena, Margeman, Mahlatsi, Matlaba, Mohamme, Saleng, Basadien, Musonda, Letlabika, Mosadi

Subs: February, Nyatama, Malinga, Wambi, Sibiya, Nene, Makgalwa, Mbhele, Thibedi

Arrows: N.Gumede, Zuke, Ndlovu, Mantshiyne, Sibiya, M.Dube, Magubane, L.Dube, Mmodi, Dlamini, M.Gumede

Subs: Mlungwana, Sabelo, Conco, Gumbi, Mutizwa, Fikizolo, Nkosi, Mtshali, Nxadi