Stellies secure a point at SuperSport


SuperSport United and Stellenbosch FC battled to a goalless draw in the DStv Premiership on Tuesday evening.

Bafana Bafana captain Ronwen Williams didn’t keep goal for United, who gave a rare outing to Baolefa Pule with Stellies also making a change in goal in Lee Langeveldt and recalled Junior Mendieta.

Stellenbosch were eager to continue their winning streak following a 1-0 triumph over Kaizer Chiefs and threatened first from a corner-kick by Ashley Du Preez, but Jesse Donn cleared.

Matsatsantsa continued to sit back and allow openings towards the half-hour mark and saw Du Preez’s glancing header from Mendieta’s free-kick sail wide of target.

It became an open affair closer to halftime as United launched one in when Thapelo Maseko headed Jamie Webber’s supply from a dead-ball situation wide.

Stellenbosch were close to the lead again after Du Preez beat the offside trap to go level with Pule, but the goalkeeper smothered the pacey attacker as the half concluded.

Matsatsantsa continued to find the going tough following the second stanza and left the Maroons to more potent openings with Pule called upon to smother Juan Oritz.

The Maroons provided another threat a little in the second period and saw Zitha Kwinika cracked the woodwork from a corner-kick, as Judas Moseamedi replaced Du Preez.

SuperSport were alive near the final minute before halftime and worked a point-blank save from Langeveldt off an equally close-range strike by Maseko who went over with a header later on.

Moseamedi could’ve handed the visitors all the points with a late chance, but Pule saved as it finished goalless in Atteridgeville.

Confirmed line-ups:

SuperSport: Pule, Nhlapo, Fleurs, Bhasera, Webber, Maseko, Mbatha, Donn, Lungu, Gabuza, Waiswa

Subs: Chigova, Moralo, Soumahoro, Ngobeni, Rayners, Ngoma, Matodzi, Rasebotja, Maziko

Stellenbosch: Langeveldt, De Goede, Kwinika, Van Heerden, Van Rooyen, Mthethwa, Mendieta, Jabaar, Adams, Du Preez, Ortiz.

Subs: Bombay, Khunyedi, Andries, Johannes, Letsoenyo, Van Wyk, Mcaba, Dimgba, Moseamedi.