SuperSport get revenge on Arrows


SuperSport United got their DStv Premiership campaign up and running with a 3-1 victory over Golden Arrows on Wednesday afternoon.

Abafana Besthende introduced two changes from their opening day win over Maritzburg United as Thabani Zuke and Siboniso Conco were handed starts while United preferred Iqraam Rayners for Thamsanqa Gabuza upfront.

Rayners nearly justified his inclusion 13 minutes in from a one-two in the area with Bradley Grobler before going on to take a snap shot which goalkeeper Sifiso Mlungwana parried.

More scary scenarios followed Abafana Besthende midway in after a knockdown in the area by Grobler connected with a late run by Sipho Mbule, who dragged over a committed Mlungwana.

The brakes cracked a minute from the half-hour mark as Teboho Mokoena arrived late at the back-post to power Rayner’s right-footed cross into the far corner.

The visitors responded with two changes at the restart, with Lindokuhle Mtshali brought in for Nduduzo Sibiya while Knox Muitzwa shifted in for Michael Gumede.

However, Matsatsantsa added to their advantage ten minutes in after a delightful into the area by Grobler allocated an unmarked Mbule who leaped high to head home.

Abafana Besthende looked to find a way back before the last 12 minutes and were close to pull one back through a low shot on the near side by Conco, but goalkeeper Ronwen Williams saved.

Matsatsantsa nabbed a third goal with nine minutes to go after substitute Gabuza peeled off a challenge on the near side to run clear and fire through the legs of Mlungwana.

There was late drama with Arrows awarded a penalty that Siphamandla Sabelo executed with ease after Nhlapo fouled Pule Mmodi, but United emerged victors in the end.

Confirmed line-ups:

SuperSport: Williams, Ditlhokwe, Bhasera, Nhlapo, Fleurs, Mbule, Donn, Mokoena, Webber, Rayners, Grobler

Subs: Chigova, Phillips, Mbatha, Mkhwanazi, Appollis, Ndhondhi, Moralo, Gabuza, Mahachi

Arrows: Mlungwana, Mathiane, Sibisi, Cele, M.Dube, Zuke, Conco, Ndwandwe, Mmodi, Sibiya, M.Gumede

Subs: Mbaeva, Dlamini, Ndlovu, Mbhele, Mantshiyane, Magawana, Sabelo, Mtshali, Mutizwa

Chiefs off the mark in DStv Prem