SuperSport back on the winning trail


SuperSport United ended the year on a high note after edging ten-man Cape Town City 3-2 in the DStv Premiership on Wednesday evening.

SuperSport were boosted by the return of goalkeeper Ronwen Williams, Teboho Mokoena and Luke Fleurs while City heavily rotated the side, with only shot-stopper Hugo Marques, Nathan Fasika, Mpho Makola and Fagrie Lakay retaining their places.

Matsatsantsa had a dream start as Ghampani Lungu gave them the lead in the ninth minute with a clinical strike across Marques after bursting clear on goal from a long ball over the top by Onismor Bhasera.

The visitors were fighting back as Fasika came close to equalising in the 14th minute with a powerful free header from a corner that was parried away by Williams.

Mokoena doubled the lead for Kaitano Tembo's charges just before the half-hour mark with a sensational free-kick from outside the box that found the top corner.

Eric Tinkler's men had a good start in the second stanza after they were awarded a penalty three minutes in adrer a foul by Bhasera on Khanyisa Mayo in the box, which allowed Lakay to a goal back with a clinical spot-kick.

Scroll through the gallery to see eight of the retired jersey numbers in the PSL


The Citizens were reduced to ten men seven minutes later after Thabo Nodada got a second yellow card and was dismissed.

However, City found the equaliser in the 73rd minute thanks to an own goal by Kegan Johannes who headed a looping effort from Terrence Mashego off his head at the back post into his own net.

Johannes redeemed himself for SuperSport as he made it 3-2 nine minutes before time with a first-time looping strike from a corner that came off the underside of the crossbar and went in.

Taariq Fielies thought he had netted the equaliser for the Citizens after finding the back of the net from a through ball but the goal was disallowed for offside, as United held on to consolidate their place in the top eight.

Confirmed line-up:

SuperSport: Williams, Philipps, Johannes, Fleurs, Bhasera, Webber, Mokoena, Waiswa, Rasebotja, Lungu, Gabuza.

Subs: Pule, Nhlapo, Mbatha, Manning, Matodzi,  Mahachi. Appollis,  Kurata, Maziko.

City: Hugo, Fisher, Fasika, Fielies, Dove, Mokhouane, Makola, Nodada, Martin, Mayo, Lakay.

Subs: Mpandle, Cupido, Morris, Mapfumo, Mokeke, Mdantsane, Mashego, 2Goedeman.