Stellies extend unbeaten start


Stellenbosch FC secured back-to-back wins in the DStv Premiership for the first time this season after defeating Chippa United 2-1 on Saturday evening.

Chippa named two notable changes from the loss to Orlando Pirates as Kurt Lentjies and Roscoe Pietersen returned, whilst Stellies handed last week’s hero Judas Moseamedi a rare start.

Stellenbosch punished the Chilli Boys’ defensive lapses ten minutes into play after a rebound from a close-range save by goalkeeper Rashid Watenga fell to Stanley Dimgba, who drilled home.

The Chilli Boys weren’t behind for too long as a header from Sammy Seabi following a pin-point corner-kick resulted in the equaliser.

The midfielder on-loan from Mamelodi Sundowns turned from hero to villain inside 34 minutes when he bundled a cross from the left-side by Dimgba into his own net after attempting a clearance.

Seabi should’ve redeemed himself with a sharp header on the near side of the area off a free-kick from the right, but the lanky player was denied by the base of the post.

Chippa began the second half with the hope of getting back immediately, whilst Stellenbosch on the other hand looked to hang onto their narrow lead.

The charges of Gavin Hunt continued to apply their own with much guts and determination, as Stellies proved difficult to break down.

Stellenbosch introduced a fresh sets of faces from the bench in the middle of the second period, with Ashley Du Preez introduced for Dimgba and Dean Van Rooyen coming in ahead of Devan Titus.

Two chances in succession for Chippa almost resulted in the leveller closer to full-time from Riaan Hanamub and a flick header by Veluyeke Zulu, but neither could find a way past Lee Langeveldt.

Stellies experienced no major worries nor surrendered their lead, but managed to hang tight for their second victory in a row.

Confirmed line-ups:

Stellenbosch: Langeveldt, Kwinka, Robertson, De Goede, Jabaar, Adams, Sinkala, Mendieta, Dimgba, Titus, Moseamedi.

Subs: Stephens, Van Heerden, Letsoenyo, Khunyedi, Van Rooyen, Du Preez, Bombay, Isaacs, Msengi.

Chippa: Watenga, Zulu, Hanamub, Mdunyelwa, Lentjies, Pietersen, Sekotlong, Seabi, Mahlambi, Mkhize, Lebitso.

Subs: Mtshali, Dickens, Matrose, Mokhele, Dinge, Mthethwa, Jodwana, Mdlinzo, Eva Nga.

Sekhukhune deny Arrows three points

AmaZulu register first league win

Downs cement top spot with Bucs scalp