Usuthu rally back to frustrate Stellies


Unbeaten Stellenbosch FC surrendered a two-goal lead to draw 2-2 with AmaZulu in the DStv Premiership on Saturday afternoon.

Zambian Augustine Mulenga was rewarded with a starting berth following his double off the bench against Cape Town City, whereas Stellies welcomed back Junior Mendieta from suspension.

The KwaZulu-Natal contingent settled first as veteran Lehlohonolo Majoro brought Stellies goalkeeper Sage Stephens to work with a powerful strike from a loose ball near the area.

Stellenbosch lacked a bit of rhythm in the opening periods which allowed Usuthu to enjoy loads of entries up-field through in particular Mulenga and Majoro.

Majoro continued to question the home side’s resolve with a shot from an acute angle that beat the outside post following excellent bit of footwork and intelligence.

Usuthu continued to dominate as the second half followed with a strong attempt outside the area by Mulenga forcing the host to cover their tracks.

It took Stellenbosch right on the 60th minute mark for the breakthrough after Stanley Dimgba beat the offside trap from a ball through the centre of the area to smash in the roof of the net.

Stellies made it two ten minutes later when Ashley Du Preez played a pass to Mendieta, came short to run onto the Argentine’s reverse ball for a first-time finish into the top-corner.

Usuthu responded after 75 minutes as Sphesihle Maduna twisted and turn outside the area to drill a low shot in off the post and into the net, as Mulenga made way for Keagan Buchanan.

The visitors were back level three minutes to the end after a corner-kick from Buchanan trickled straight into the net beyond Sage Stephens.

Stellies finished the match with ten players when Devon Titus saw red for a second bookable offence in the dying stages, as it ended all square.

Confirmed line-ups:

Stellenbosch: Stephens, Kwinika, Robertson, Van Rooyen, Van Heerden, Mthethwa, Jabaar, Sinkala, Dimgba, Du Preez, Mendieta.

Subs: Bombay, Adams, Titus, Khunyedi, Letsoenyo, De Goede, Isaacs, Msengi, Moseamedi.

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Gumede, Sikhakhane, Xoki, Malepe, Qalinge, Makhaula, Mlambo, Sithebe, Majoro, Mulenga.

Subs: Boshoff, Ekstein, Maduna, Masilela, Ntuli, Buchanan, Khumalo, Mgwazela, De Jong.