Rama keeps Chiefs in CAF CL race


Kaizer Chiefs defeated Sekhukhune United 1-0 in their penultimate DStv Premiership clash of the season, keeping their CAF Champions League hopes alive.

A somewhat depleted Amakhosi showed up and restored Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Sabelo Radebe and captain Bernard Parker from their 1-1 draw against the champions Mamelodi Sundowns.

Following a quiet start, Babina Noko came closest to the lead when Vusimuzi Mncube cutback outside the area and produced a stern save from Bruce Bvuma off a decent curling attempt.

Chiefs began to find calmness in possession and staged a few openings through amongst others Khama Billiat, who dropped wide and cut inside to get a shot away which the host blocked away.

The Amakhosi hit the front six minutes to halftime when Ramahlwe Mphahlele headed a well-drilled free-kick off the crossbar and into the net- at a venue where he debuted in 2007.

Scroll through the gallery to see the 10 most valuable No. 10s in the DStv Premiership

Babina Noko were the first to make a substitution as Tlotlo Leepile came on for Thabang Kobela at the resumption a little before Charlton Mashumba slammed a loose delivery wide of target.

Chiefs came alive a few moments thereafter and could have gone further ahead from a decent strike by Khama Billiat and a free header in the box by Radebe.

Additional amount of firepower from the Amakhosi well in the last 20 minutes of play saw Kgaogelo Sekgota come on in the place of Ngcobo.

Babina Noko could’ve levelled through a snap shot by Edwin Gyimah late on, but it was blocked before Toaster Nsabata smothered a one-on-one from Lazarous Kambole at the other end.

Sekhukhune didn’t stop to throw balls in the defensive half of the Amakhosi in the closing minutes, but the equalizer didn’t come as the visitors secured victory.

Confirmed line-ups:

Sekhukhune: Nsabata, Mahlangu, Kabwe, Motsepe, Gyimah, Maart, Mobbie, Kobela, Molaba, Mashumba, Mncube

Subs: Dlamini, Ledwaba, Chabalala, Leepile, Katsande, Parusnath, Madonsela, Ohizu, Nxumalo 

Chiefs: Bvuma, Frosler,  Ngezana, Mphahlele, Blom, Alexander, Radebe, Parker, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Billiat, Castro.

Subs: Akpeyi, Mathoho, Agay, Kambole, Dube, Njabulo Ngcobo, Mashiane, Mabiliso, Sekgota

Stellies spoil Sundowns' celebrations