Hotto steers Bucs past Maritzburg


Orlando Pirates edged Maritzburg United 1-0 to return to winning ways in the DStv Premiership on Saturday evening.

Pirates issued Bongani Sam his second consecutive start, while Terrence Dzvukamanja missed out in favour of Deon Hotto following their goalless draw against Golden Arrows.

The Team of Choice had a number of bodies behind the ball following the earlier exchanges, as a blistering shot from range by Thabang Monare brought Bongani Mpandle to a fine save.

An early casualty for the host saw Clayton Daniels withdrawn towards the midway stage following a knock and had Nazeer Allie entering from the bench.

Pirates hit the front in the last five minutes of the first half when a ball from Monare found Sam who delivered a first-time cross for Hotto to tap home from the back-post.

A few late openings for either side came, however neither of the two outfits were able to profit as the first stanza concluded.

Ernst Middendorp introduced a double substitution at halftime, as Daylon Claasen came on for Judas Moseamedi and Riyaaz Ismail making way for Bongokuhle Hlongwane.

Pirates started to regain control following the slow start to the second stanza, as a header from Vincent Pule followed by a shot from Azola Tshobeni kept Maritzburg on the edge.

The Team of Choice struggled to penetrate the Buccaneers up front with balls from out wide by Daniel Morgan inside the closing stages comfortably dealt with by goalkeeper Richard Ofori.

A flurry of late chances went the way of the Buccaneers through Thembinkosi Lorch, Fortune Makaringe and Pule, but neither were able to hit the target.

Maritzburg provided a scare in time added on with a snap shot from the left by Sibusiso Hlubi, but Ofori parried as it ended 1-0 to the Buccaneers.

Confirmed line ups:

Maritzburg: Mpandle, Daniels, Modise, Morgan, Meza, Ismail, De Reuck, Mngonyama, Buchanan, Moseamadi, Graham

Subs: Barr, Allie, Claasen, Kutumela, Hlongwane, Sanoka, Hlubi, Shandu, Tlolane

Pirates: Ofori, Hlatshwayo, Jele, Maela, Tshobeni, Makaringe, Monare, Pule, Sam, Hotto, Lorch

Subs: Sandilands, Mundele, Dzvukumanja Sesane, Zungu, Dlamini, Jooste, Ndlovu, Motshwari.

Chippa punish 10-man Leopards

Stellies end Chiefs' winning streak

Swallows snatch a draw at Downs