Chiefs clinch back-to-back wins


Kaizer Chiefs claimed back-to-back wins in the DStv Premiership for the first time this season with a 2-1 triumph over Cape Town City.

Kearyn Baccus and Nkosingiphile Ngcobo started for the Amakhosi along with Dumisani Zuma, as City welcomed back Thabo Nodada and Mpho Makola.

Ngcobo heralded his return to the line-up in style on five minutes after his snap-shot from a loose ball in the area wrong-footed City goalkeeper Peter Leeuwenburgh en-route to rattling the net.

Chiefs were given their first threat on 12 minutes when a first-time shot outside the centre of the area from Nodada produced a firm save from Nigerian shot-stopper Daniel Akpeyi.

The Amakhosi bagged a second seven minutes later after Happy Mashiane ran onto a through pass from Samir Nurkovic before rounding Leeuwenburgh for a simple finish.

City began to charge forward following the closing period of the first half, with a first-time shot from Mduduzi Mdantsane forcing Akpeyi to a strong save.

Surprise Ralani went close to halve the deficit for the Citizens in added time from a low shot outside the box, but Akpeyi managed to smother.

The Citizens made a change at the break, as captain Thamsanqa Mkhize made way for Craig Martin whilst Akpeyi pulled off a superb stop from a rasping shot in the area by Ralani.

Chiefs struggled to absorb the waves and waves of attacks from the Citizens late in the second half, as Mdantsane curled onto the post following a run from out wide.

The Amakhosi’s resilience were broken seven minutes from time when Fagrie Lakay made a late run in the area to slam home a flowing passing move.

Nodada nearly clawed the Citizens level with a surging run from the right in the closing minutes, but curled wide before Martin send a cross narrowly wide as the Amakhosi held on for the win.

Confirmed line-ups:

City: Leeuwenburgh, Mkhize, Cupido, Potouridies, Mashego, Makola, Mokeke, Mdantsane, Ralani, Nodada, Lakay.

Subs: Anderson, Georgiades, Kewuti, Martin, Gaxa, Zulu, Goedeman

Chiefs: Akpeyi, Ngezana, Zulu, Mphahlele, Cardoso, Akumu, Mashiane, Baccus, Nurkovic, Ngcobo, Zuma.

Subs: Bvuma, Moleko, Parker, Castro, Manyama, Sasman, Blom, Matsheke, Lesako.