Cape Town City relegate Leopards


Eric Tinkler marked his return at Cape Town City with an emphatic victory after relegating Black Leopards with a 3-1 win in the DStv Premiership on Wednesday evening.

Tinkler made four changes for his first game, with shot-stopper Marc Anderson making his debut, alongside recalls for Thamsanqa Mkhize, Bradley Ralani and Abbubaker Mobara.

The Citizens had a chance to grab an early lead in the sixth minute after a cross by Ralani found Craig Martin in a good position inside the box but he guided his header wide.

Leopards eventually got the opener ten minutes later with their first attack, as Khomotso Masia planted a header into the top corner after a cross by Tumelo Khutlang from a set-piece situation.

After having a goal disallowed in the 21st minute, Ralani had a chance to level matters seven minutes before the break from a free-kick just outside the box but he curled his effort over the bar.

However, Ralani forced a save out of goalkeeper Jonas Mendes in first-half stoppages with a strike from outside the box, as Lidoda Duvha held on to a 1-0 lead going to the break.

Fagrie Lakay eventually levelled matters for the hosts just before the hour-mark with a low strike into the bottom corner after a lay-back by Mpho Makola.

The Citizens made a double change just after that, as Tashreeq Morris replaced Martin in a tactical move while Abdul Ajagun came on for Makola in midfield.

Ajagun had an immediate impact after making it 2-1 for City on the hour-mark with a low strike into the bottom corner after getting on the end a cross by Terrence Mashego.

Leopards also made a double change in the last 18 minutes, with Lehlohonolo Masalesa coming on for Wiseman Maluleke in midfield while Sibusiso Khumalo came on for Khutlang in a tactical move.

However, Ajagun sealed the deal for the Citizens five minutes before time with a strike from close range after he was setup by Morris, sending Lidoda Duvha to the GladAfrica Championship in the process.

Confirmed line-ups:

City: Anderson, Mkhize, Fielies, Mobara, Mashego, Mokeke, Mdantsane, Makola,  Ralani, Martin, Lakay.

Subs: Diana-Oliaro, Zulu, Morris, Ngoma, Shonga, Roberts,  Cupido, Ajagun, Goedeman.

Leopards: Mendes, Masia, Karuru, Gyimah, Maluleke, Makobela, Mashoene, Mathenjwa, Mthethwa, Thutlwa, Khutlang.

Subs: Muleka, Abubakar, Mokoena, Douhadji, Ndlovu, Khumalo, Masalesa, Anas, Sampson.