Leopards sink Bucs to end winless run


Orlando Pirates suffered their second defeat of the season in the DStv Premiership after going down 2-0 to Black Leopards on Sunday afternoon.

Thulani Hlatshwayo regained captaincy on his return to the Buccaneers side that thumped fellow Limpopo side Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila in midweek.

It was Leopards who launched the first threat minutes from the start when a snap-shot from the right-side of the area by Rodney Ramagalela forced Wayne Sandilands to make a save.

Leopards were gifted the opening goal when Innocent Maela directed the ball from a corner-kick into his own net on 29 minutes shortly after he nodded a left-sided cross onto the face of the bottom-post.

The Buccaneers were two goals down five minutes before halftime when a cutback from Ovidy Karuru off a defence-splitting pass unleashed Roderick Kabwe, who rifled into the bottom corner.

Matters worsened for the Sea Robbers at the same time with Ntsikelelo Nyauza stretchered off the park and Happy Jele entering from the substitutes bench.

Pirates head coach Josef Zinnbauer decided to change tactics right after halftime, as Terrence Dzvukamanja came on in the place of Wayde Jooste.

Dzvukamanja looked to make his presence felt immediately from a header in the area, but redirected the supply wide of the top-corner.

The Buccaneers struggled to find joy in attack following the closing quarter, as Thembinkosi Lorch, Vincent Pule and Gabadinho Mhango failed to open up Lidoda Duvha.

A smart attempt through the head from Mhango a little later before a snap-shot from the centre of the area by Dzvukamanja were the closest the Sea Robbers came to a breakthrough.

Mohammed Anas should’ve extended the hosts' advantage from two one-on-ones at the death but Sandilands parried both, however the first-half goals were enough to secure only their second win and clean sheet of the season.

Confirmed line ups:

Leopards: K.Ndlovu, Makobela, Mashoene, Gyimah, Masia, Mthethwa, Maluleke, Karuru, Makgetlwa, Kabwe, Ramagalela.

Subs: Mendes, Khumalo, Abubakar, Onogogbu, Thutlwa, T.Ndlovu, Hlongwane, Anas, Nthatheni

Pirates: Sandilands, Hlatshwayo, Nyauza, Jooste, Maela, Motshwari, Makaringe, Lorch, Hotto, Pule, Mhango.

Subs: Mpontshane, Dzvukamanja, Mntambo, Zungu, Sam, Dlamini, Monare, Ndlovu, Jele

Chiefs clinch back-to-back wins

Swallows reclaim second spot

Downs, SuperSport share the spoils