Leopards bow out with a stalemate


Relegated Black Leopards bowed out of the DStv Premiership with a 1-1 draw against Bloemfontein Celtic on Saturday afternoon.

Leopards preferred goalkeeper Rotshidzwa Muleka, Roderick Kabwe and Mohammed Anas amongst others, as Celtic called back Lantshene Phalane and Victor Letsoalo in particular.

Kabwe gave the host a dream start after ten minutes when he collected a low pass outside the area to go straight down the throat of goalkeeper Mondli Mpoto and into the back of the net.

Celtic attempted to launch a reply following a few moments, but Letsoalo fired a loose pass in an open space straight at Muleka.

The host were forced to do a substitution with 28 minutes gone after Sibusiso Khumalo succumbed to a knock and was removed for Tsheamo Mashoene.

Siwelele Sa Masele still went forward in the hope of an equaliser ten minutes to halftime with a curling low first-time shot outside the area from Ndumiso Mabena the closest they came.

With the second half underway, Mabena continued to trouble Leopards from a free-kick outside the area this time around but he went straight at Muleka.

Have a look at all the PSL award nominees for this season below:

Celtic maintained the pressure play on the host as a ball across the face of the six-yard area by Letsoalo left both sets of players in sixes and sevens.

However, Leopards sustained the barrage and managed to come alive again as Anas worked an angle in the area to stung the gloves of Mpoto with a powerful shot.

Siwelele though regained momentum and levelled inside the last ten minutes through Reagan Van der Ross in pretty decent fashion.

The two sides continued to have a go at each other towards fulltime, but settled for a point apiece that see Celtic finish the season in 11th spot.

Confirmed line-ups:

Leopards: Muleka, Makobela, Masia, Douadji, Khumalo, Masalesa, Maluleke, Mathenjwa, Karuru, Kabwe, Anas.

Subs: Mendes, Sampson, Mashoene, Mokoena, Abubakar, Khutlang, Ndlovu, Matsimbi, Thutlwa.

Celtic: Mpoto, Baloyi, Mahashe, Chabalala, Ngobeni, Phalane, Mashikinya, Potsane, Mabena, Njoti, Letsoalo.

Subs: Phafoli, Lingwati, Matjila, Ncobeni, Ndwandwe, Khasipe, Van Der Ross, Kobedi, Smith.