Stellies up to eighth after Chippa draw


Stellenbosch FC climbed to eighth spot in the Absa Premiership despite playing to a 1-1 draw with Chippa United on Friday evening.

Waseem Isaacs was given his first start for Stellenbosch in the bio-bubble while Robyn Johannes returned from injury, as Chippa gave both Andile Mbenyane and Thabiso Lebitso rare starts.

Isaacs made an immediate impact 16 minutes gone with a first-time finish off a throw-in following a poor defensive clearance from Chippa’s Phetso Maphanga.

Isaacs was close to a second shortly after the half-hour mark but after beating the offside trap, he went straight at Veli Mothwa who made a timeous intervention to thwart Ryan Moon seconds later.

Chippa started to come alive following a slow start and had lanky defender Frederic Nsabiyumva heading wide from a good looking corner-kick before the break.

Another defence-splitting pass from Stellies on 40 minutes cut open the Chilli Boys and released Leletu Skelem who raced ahead on the far side before bringing Mothwa to a save.

Chippa threw on Kurt Lentjies at halftime, with fellow midfielder Lehlogonolo Masalesa the man to make way for the former Mamelodi Sundowns and Maritzburg United man.

The Chilli Boys had a clear chance to draw level five minutes from the break through Mbenyane’s diving header at the near post, but Lee Langeveldt got down to smother the forward.

Chippa launched another threat soon at the midway point in the second half as Thokozani Sekotlong’s free-kick from the far side hit the outside net instead of the inside net.

Stellenbosch should’ve had a second goal in the last 20 minutes after Skelem beat Mothwa to a looping ball before firing across the far corner with the goal gaping.

With the game seemingly headed for a Stellenboshc win, the Chilli Boys levelled matters when Sekotlong showed good control in the area to fire through the body of Langeveldt in stoppage time.

VIEW: Absa Prem Table

Confirmed line-ups:

Stellenbosch: Langeveldt, Mobbie, Van Heerden, De Goede, Robertson, Msengi, Johannes, Scott, Moon, Isaacs, Skelem.

Subs: Pool, Ndlovu, Bergman, Solomons, Adams, Karuru, Mthethwa, Van Rooyen, Moroole.

Chippa: Mothwa, Kwem, Modisane, Masalesa, Mbenyane, Maphanga, Thopola, Nsabiyumva, Komane, Jodwana, Lebitso,

Subs: Mazibuko, Mthethwa, Malepe, Sekotlong, Mahola, Moyo, Lentjies, Gamildien, Damons