Bucs end six-game winless run


Orlando Pirates ended a six-match winless run with a 2-1 victory over Chippa United in the Absa Premiership, as Tshegofatso Mabasa hit a double on Saturday.

Frenchman Joris Delle made his first official start for Pirates after arriving in pre-season, while Thembinkosi Lorch who missed their last match against Golden Arrows also started along with Augustine Mulenga.

The Buccaneers showed more promise in the opening interphases, but the Chilli Boys kept a good defensive shape to absorb the pressure coming their way.

Winless in six matches, Bucs switched play quite a lot in the earlier minutes drawing loads of corners from the visiting side in the process.

The Chilli Boys though failed to mastermind anything worthwhile too in attack, as the Soweto giants proved difficult to break down nor out manoeuvre.

Pirates made a change after halftime with Ntsikelelo Nyauza making way for Thabiso Nonyane at wing back. The latter failed to cover himself in glory with his first touch as he ballooned over the bar following an invited opportunity.

Bucs were finally rewarded after 55 minutes when Mabasa found space in the centre of the area to side-foot past Tignyemb from Augustine Mulenga’s set-up. Mabasa added a second five minutes later when he turned his marker to finish off Nonyane’s cross-field ball into the area –with Tignyemb in no man’s land.

Pirates opened up chances for more breakthroughs, but Lorch amongst others and Mabasa couldn’t capitalise. Chippa were back in the contest on 79 minutes when Rhulani Manzini’s free-kick proved too strong for Delle, which allowed Lerato Manzini to tap-in the rebound.

Delle atoned for his error two minutes later as he tipped Rhulani Manzini’s header behind for a corner kick as The Sea Robbers managed the match effectively to end a six-game winless run, with Chippa still searching for their first win.


Pirates: Delle, Jele, Maela, Nyauza, Ndlovu, Nyatama, Mlambo, Makaringe, Lorch, Mulenga, Mabasa.

Subs: Sandilands, Ndengane, Dlamini, Monyane, Memela, Mhango, Lepasa.

Chippa: Tingyemb, Damons, K.Moyo, Nsabiyumva, Mashaba, Komane, Malepe, Lentjies, Rakhale, Maphangule, L.Manzini.

Subs: Mazibuko, Mthethwa,  Twala,  E.Moyo, Mohola, Maziya, R.Manzini.