Bucs, City play to 6-goal thriller


Orlando Pirates were part of another goal-fest as they drew 3-3 with Cape Town City in a cracking Absa Premiership match at Orlando Stadium.

Thabiso Monyane, Alfred Ndengane Kabelo Dlamini earned a recall from the Pirates side that lost to Bidvest Wits, as Roland Putsche made his first appearance on the bench for City this season.

City stunned the Ghosts as early as the sixth minute when Thabo Nodada wiggled through two challenges to fire over the head of Joris Delle. Kermit Erasmus came back to haunt for his former club as he sprung the offside trap to blast into the near post corner after going level with Delle three minutes later.

Pirates remained at sea shortly thereafter, but Delle came to the rescue to deny Mpho Makola and Fagrie Lakay from close-range.

The Buccaneers were back in the contest at the midway point after Happy Jele’s deflected shot wrong-footed Peter Leeuwenburgh before creeping into the far corner. The hosts levelled on the stroke of halftime when Tshegofatso Mabasa controlled a long ball from the far side to finish into the bottom corner.

Injuries at the restart forced Benni McCarthy to a double change, as Erasmus and Lakay went off for Shaquille Abrahams and Shane Roberts respectively.

Bucs went in front for the first time when Ndengane leaped over a number of bodies for a towering header past Leeuwenburgh following a right sided cross 12 minutes from the break.

The Citizens struggled to pose any serious threat though despite relentless attacking play from all sides. Rhulani Mokwena refreshed his side a little bit, bringing on Vincent Pule for Dlamini 20 minutes to the final whistle.

City levelled in the last five minutes as Roberts fired into the top corner after receiving all the time and space at the back post following an in-swinging corner. Honours even was how the match turned out as both sides drop points that would have seen either side in the top half.


Pirates: Delle, Jele, Ndengane, Maela, Nyatama,  Mlambo, Makaringe, Monyane, Lorch, Dlamini, Mabasa.

Subs: Sandilands, Nyauza, Pule, Memela, Mhango, Lepasa.

City: Leeuwenburgh, Mkhize, Fielies, Edmilson, Kewuti, Mokeke, Nodada, Makola, Martin, Erasmus, Lakay.

Subs: Stephens, Putsche, Abrahams, Mthembu, Cupido, Roberts.