Chippa deny Downs three points


Chippa United scored a last-gasp equaliser to salvage a 1-1 draw with Mamelodi Sundowns at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Wednesday evening.

Sibusiso Vilakazi and Lebohang Maboe returned to the line-up after starting Sunday's CAF Champions League qualifier on the bench, while Bangaly Soumahoro made a surprise return to the squad.

After a quiet start to the half, Thabo Rakhale got behind his marker down the right-hand side and Denis Onyango had to be on his toes to keep out the Chippa midfielder's deflected shot.

Besides that brief riposte from the Chilli Boys, Sundowns were comfortably dominating possession and looking by far the more enterprising of the two sides, but could not muster a shot on target.

After a sustained period of pressure, the Brazilians deservedly took the lead in the 35th minute. Some neat one-touch football in extremely tight areas worked the ball in to the box, before Themba Zwane teed up Maboe, who drilled the ball in to the bottom right-hand corner.

Shortly after the interval, Zwane's header at the near post from Makgalwa's corner forced Chippa keeper Patrick Tignyemb in to a fine save, before Chippa defender Kevin Moyo almost put the ball in to his own net when his attempted clearance from a Vilakazi cross almost miscued in to his own goal, but Tignyemb was luckily in the right position.

Vilakazi missed an absolute sitter on the hour mark when he somehow put the ball over the bar from close range after a long ball over the top from Kekana, while Makgalwa, who looked good since coming on at half-time, bent the ball narrowly over the bar in the 82nd minute.

Sundowns were punished for their wastefulness in front of goal when Chippa equalised in the 90th minute. The ball was swung in to the box and Sundowns failed to clear their lines properly with the ball falling to Meshack Maphangule, whose effort deflected into the back of the net to crush Masandawana hearts.


Chippa: Tignyemb, Damons, Nsabiyumva, K.Moyo, E.Moyo, Komane, Maphangule, Rakhale, Mbenyane, Lentjies, R.Manzini.

Sundowns: Onyango, Morena, Madisha, Lebusa, Langerman, Seabi, Kekana, Zwane, Sirino, Vilakazi, Maboe.

Subs: Pieterse, Mabunda, Jali, Soumahoro, Makgalwa, Mahlambi, Ngcongca.