Chiefs fall out of top 8 in the money


Eleven-time PSL champions Mamelodi Sundowns earned the most in prizemoney from the 2020/21 domestic campaign after totalling just over R20 million.

As DStv Premiership champions, Sundowns received R15 million and then twice pocketed R1.5 million for winning two of the four Q-innovations.

They banked R800 000 from the MTN8 after being bundled out by runners-up Bloemfontein Celtic at the first hurdle, and got another R1.25 million for reaching the Nedbank Cup semi-finals.

This comes to a total of R20.05 million in prize money – the most won by any PSL team in domestic competitions.

Scroll through the galley above to see the top 10 earners in the 2020/21 PSL season

In second place in terms of money banked from local competitions is Orlando Pirates, who pocketed R12.4 million.

The Buccaneers won the MTN8 worth R8 million, then got R3.75 million for their third-place finish in the league plus R650 000 for reaching the Nedbank Cup quarter-finals.

AmaZulu made it to a record third, having made R9.45 million for their historic second-place finish in the league, a maiden Q-innovation victory of the third quarter, as well as Nedbank Cup income for reaching the Last 16.

Top flight rookies Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila came in fourth on R8.7 million, after winning the Nedbank Cup and finishing 12th in the league.

Kaizer Chiefs’ dismal domestic campaign means they are not even in the top eight in the prizemoney ranks, after they squeezed their way into position eight on the league table and were knocked out early from the Nedbank Cup.

Meanwhile, the PSL big three are due to earn further money from their participation in CAF competitions, with Amakhosi making strong ground having already reached the semi-finals.

Pirates are due to get approximately R4.8 million for reaching the Confederations Cup last eight, while Sundowns will also be getting approximately R8.8 million for reaching the Champions League quarterfinals.

Chiefs will still get a minimum of approximately R11.9 million for historically negotiating their way into the last four of the elite continental inter-club competition, where a meeting with Wydad Athletic Club now awaits to decide who meets either Al Ahly or Esperance in the final.

Total prizemoney rankings: 

R20.05-million – Mamelodi Sundowns  

R12.4-million – Orlando Pirates  

R9.45-million – AmaZulu  

R8.74-million – Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila 

R4.35-million – Golden Arrows 

R3.25-million – Chippa United 

R2.95-million – SuperSport United 

R2.57-million – Cape Town City

R2.35-million – Kaizer Chiefs

R2.01-million – Swallows  

R1.9-million – Bloemfontein Celtic

R1.87-million – Maritzburg United 

R1.24-million – TS Galaxy 

R1.18-million – Baroka 

R1.09-million – Black Leopards 

R0.92-million – Stellenbosch 

Apply today by completing the 6 fields below to see if you pre-qualify for your dream car: