PSL Awards nominees: DStv Prem


The Premier Soccer League on Wednesday named the nominees for the DStv Premiership categories, with Mamelodi Sundowns and AmaZulu stars leading the list.

Sundowns' dominance in the league this season has seen them attract nominations in multiple categories, including the Footballer of the Season and Coach of the Season.

The Brazilians are just three points away from wrapping up the 2020/21 Premieship title after an impressive campaign in which they have suffered just one defeat in 26 games thus far.

Peter Shalulile has been immense for the Tshwane outfit since arriving from Highlands Park at the start of the season, scoring 11 goals and assist a further six.

The Namibian, who has also been nominated for the KICK OFF Footballer of the Season, is now among the candidates for the Footballer of the Season and Player's Player of the Season awards.

His teammate Themba Zwane, the reigning Footballer of the Season, is also nominated in three categories for his contribution of nine goals and one assist in the league.

The Coach of the Season category is arguably the tightest race of all, with several coaches having excelled or exceeded expectations with their respective teams.

Full list of nominees:

PSL Footballer of the Season: 

DStv Prem Coach of the Season:

Player's Player of the Season: 

DStv Prem Young Player of the Season: Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg), Kamogelo Mahlangu (TS Galaxy), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka)

DStv Prem Midfielder of the Season: Themba Zwane, Rivaldo Coetzee (both Sundowns), Makhehlene Makhaula (AmaZulu)

DStv Prem Defender of the Season: Mosa Lebusa (Sundowns), Njabulo Ngcobo (Swallows), Tapelo Xoki (AmaZulu)

DStv Prem Goalkeeper of the Season: Denis Onyango (Sundowns), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Sifiso Mlungwana (Arrows)

DStv Diski Player of the Tournament: Boitumela Radiopane (Pirates), Lindokuhle Zungu (AmaZulu), Siyanda Nyanga (Sundowns)

PSL Awards nominees: Nedbank Cup

PSL Award nominees: MTN8

Why Broos snubbed Chiefs, Bucs stars