Second Division play-offs start today

All nine provinces are represented in the week long competition, with the Final on Sunday at Makhulong Stadium.

The provincial winners have been drawn into two pools with the group winners not only playing in the Final but also qualifying to play in the First Division next season.

Group A has Mthatha Bush Bucks (Eastern Cape), Mbombela United (Mpumalanga), Cape Town All Stars (Western Cape), Young Stars (Northern Cape) and Baroka (Limpopo) while Group B has Amajuba United (KZN), Vardos (Gauteng), Maluti FET College (Free State) and the representative from North West.

Delays in the naming of the team to represent North West stem from the fact that there is an arbitration matter in the province which is scheduled to be heard at Pitjie Chambers in Johannesburg at 3pm.

That hearing will confirm the team – between Polokwane City Rovers and North West Shining Stars – to play in the tournament as North West champions.

All the matches on the opening day will be at Sinaba Stadium in Daveyton before shifting to Mehlareng and Makhulong in Tembisa.

The Safa Second Division was formerly known as the Vodacom League when the mobile telecommunications company was still the sponsor.

Group A
Mthatha Bush Bucks (Eastern Cape)
Mbombela (Mpumalanga)
Cape Town All Stars (Western Cape)
Young Stars (Northern Cape)
Baroka (Limpopo)

Group B
Amajuba United (KZN)
Vardos (Gauteng)
Maluti FET College (Free State)
Polokwane City Rovers/North West Shining Stars (North West)