Safa hosts awards

The President of SAFA, Dr Molefi Oliphant, described the glittering ceremony held in Sandton, Johannesburg as, "A culmination and celebration of many achievements by SAFA since the organisation's readmission to CAF and FIFA after successful unity talks in 1991, which led to a series of proud moments that deserve to be celebrated and properly recorded in our football history.

"Tonight's event is a platform to showcase the makeup of SAFA through its Regions, Competitions, National Teams, Youth and Women’s football, Coaching and Refereeing. The Friends of Football, in particular our commercial partners, also deserve a thank you in an occasion of this caliber. We have come a very long way since the formation of SAFA in 1991, and it will take more than this occasion to honour the many people that have made a meaningful contribution to the beautiful game.

"South Africa was the first Non European country to Join FIFA in 1910, and one of the four countries that formed CAF in 1957. South Africa has a rich football history, and the Annual SAFA Awards will help us to highlight historic milestones on an ongoing basis. We are hard at work preparing to welcome the world to our beautiful country for next year's FIFA Confederations Cup and the 2010 FIFA World Cup. We take this opportunity to call on all South Africans to join us in making these events a great success that you and I will be proud of," says Dr Oliphant.


Players Awards-SAFA Competitions Awards:

Mr Khumbulani Mdluli
Mr Cambridge Mashego Mr John Tsotetsi

Players Awards/ Men National Teams Mr Teko Modise Mr Itumeleng Khune Mr Ramahlwe Mphahlele Mr Lehlogonolo Masalesa

Players Awards-Women National Teams Ms Veronica Phewa Ms Memory Makhanya Ms Rachel Sebati

Referees Awards: Mr Ari Soldatos Mr Ian McLeod Mr Jerome Damon Mr Enock Molefe Ms Deidre Mitchell Ms Nomvula Masilela

Coaching Awards: Mr Clive Barker Mr Jomo Sono Mr Shakes Mashaba Mr Trott Moloto Mr Gordon Igesund

Regional Awards: SAFA Amajuba
SAFA Vhembe SAFA Thabo Mofutsanyana

President's Awards: Mr Joshua Khetsi Mr Joe Frickleton Mr Dan Leboa Mr Achmat Salie Mr Solly Phasha Mr Qokololo Hlophe Castle Lager / Mr Cambridge Sowetan / Mr Sello Rabothata City Press / Mr Sibusio Mseleku SABC Sport/ Mr Mvuso Mbebe Ms Magdeline Ntshingila Dr P Molemela

President's Special Awards: Professor Lesole Gadinabokao SAFA Honorary President Dr Leepile Taunyane SAFA Life Time Member Mr Vincent Baartjes SAFA Life Time Member