Pirates are champions!

After Ajax Cape Town were held to a 2-2 draw by Maritzburg United in the Mother City, Pirates netted six minutes from time through Isaac Chansa to secure the League title, their first since 2003.

The home side took the lead through Bongani Ndulula, but Collins Mbseuma restored parity before halftime for the visitors. It was left up to Chansa to pop up late and secure the championship for the Soweto giants.

Golden Arrows stopper Helton da Rocha had to be at his brilliant best to deny Thulasizwe Mbuyane early on after he was set-up by Dikgang Mabalane.

Pirates suffered a blow midway through the first half when Mabalane limped off injured to be replaced by Mark Mayambela but they continued to dominate the play.

The Buccaneers were ahead seven minutes before the break through national Under-23 star Ndulula as he finished from Andile Jali’s pinpoint pass.

But the lead lasted just three minutes as ex-Kaizer Chiefs star Mbesuma provided a neat finish to make the score 1-1.

Ndulula should have made it 2-1 to Bucs but he saw his effort go off target as the home side camped in the Golden Arrows half.

The goal they needed duly came with six minutes to go as the Zambian Chansa fired home from outside the box to send the fans into delirium.

It was a lead they held on to and take home their third championship of the PSL era.