OFFICIAL: Host cities announced


In a media briefing this morning Minister of Sports and Recreation Fikile Mbalula announced Nelspruit (Mbombela Stadium), Port Elizabeth (Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium), Rustenburg (Royal Bafokeng Stadium) and Durban (Moses Mabhida Stadium) as host cities.

Soccer City in Johannesburg will be used for the opening and closing ceremonies and matches. Cape Town will not host any matches at all, a pity considering the amount of support shown to Bafana Bafana in recent years.

A joint task team consisting of Sport and Recreation South Africa, the Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs and the National Treasury will meet to discuss how to relieve the financial burden on the cities.

Regarding concerns about the cost of hosting the tournament, Mbalula says Cabinet has come to an agreement with Safa that a portion of the gate takings will be shared with CAF, the host cities and government. Follow me on Twitter @ProjectJennifer