Modise nets top award


The Orlando Pirates and Bafana Bafana playmaker was the inaugural winner of the award presented to the player who was deemed to have excelled across all levels of South African football.

Other nominees were Supersport United’s Elias ‘Dominguez’ Pelembe and Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune.

Supersport's Mozambican winger Pelembe was meanwhile named Absa Premiership Player of the Season. Pelembe had been singled-out by many commentators as a likely candidate for the award, and his contribution to Matsatsantsa winning their maiden Premiership title makes him a deserved recipient.

Chiefs goalkeeper Khune was also a big winner on the night, picking up the Players’ Player of the Season, Goalkeeper of the Season and Telkom Knockout Cup Player of the Tournament.

Supersport’s Gavin Hunt was unsurprisingly named Coach of the Season, the second time he has collected the top award after doing so with Black Leopards in the 2001/02 season.

James Chamanga received the Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot Award, with Absa putting up R1 000 per goal scored as prize-money, netting the Zambian R14 000.

Siboniso Gaxa’s blistering drive against Mamelodi Sundowns earned him the Goal of the Season Award.

USA-bound Santos skipper Musa Otieno received the inaugural Chairman’s Award for his services to football in South Africa over the past 10 years since his arrival from Kenya.

PSL AWARDS Footballer of the Year Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates)

Chairman’s Award Musa Otieno (Santos)

Referee of the Season Ace Ncobo

Assistant Referee of the Season Enoch Molefe

ABSA PREMIERSHIP Player of the Season Elias Pelembe (Supersport United)

Players’ Player of the Season Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

Coach of the Season Gavin Hunt (Supersport United)

Goalkeeper of the Season Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot Award James Chamanga (Moroka Swallows)

Awesome Goal of the Season Siboniso Gaxa (Supersport United) vs Mamelodi Sundowns

NEDBANK CUP Player of the Tournament Vusiwe Masondo (Mpumalanga Black Aces)

Most Promising Player of the Tournament Thabang Rooi (Mpumalanga Black Aces)

TELKOM KNOCKOUT Player of the Tournament Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)