Ea Lla Koto win battle of the Stars

The home side started the game on a high note and nearly opened the scoring on three minutes when Noah Chivuta went close with a free-kick.

However, just six minutes later Boitumelo Sekgobela broke the deadlock as he buried Katlego Mashego’s low cross.

Edward Manqele was denied by the upright on 33 minutes, but shortly afterwards Paulus Masehe had to clear off his own line after Kennedy Mweene was beaten by Rakhale.

But just two minutes before the break Manqele did add a second, heading home Ayanda Gcaba’s cross.

Gege netted Free State Stars’ third on 56 minutes, finishing off from Mashego’s corner-kick, before Manqele got his second on 77 minutes from the penalty spot.

Former FS Stars player Nyathi scored a consolation goal six minutes from time.

FS State Stars: Mweene – Gcaba, Akoriko, Gege, Gilbert – Chivuta (Coetzee 55), Masehe, Mosikidi (Makola 65) – Mashego, Sekgobela (Lebyane 74), Manqele

Sivutsa Stars: Maseko – Nyambi, Benside (Nkosi 52), Gumede, Sibiya – Nyathi, Rakhale, Nyundu, Motha – Zwane (Mathonsi 65), M. Nkosi (Mkhanazi 52)