Sekhukhune clinch back-to-back wins


Sekhukhune United secured back-to-back wins in the DStv Premiership for the first time after a narrow 1-0 victory over Cape Town City on Saturday afternoon.

The Citizens made only one change for the encounter, as Abdul Ajagun was recalled in place of the of Idumba Fasika while Babina Noko brought back Willard Katsande and Vusimuzi Mncube.

Thabo Nodada should have given City the lead after 18 minutes with a big chance inside the six-yard box but the midfielder was unable to bypass goalkeeper Toaster Nsabata, who produced a good save,

While Sekhukhune were absorbing the pressure for the better part of the first stanza, they were fortunate not go behind eight minutes before the half-time break after Mduduzi Mdantsane went clear on goal from a through ball over the defence but he guided his shot wide with only Nsabata to beat.

The hosts had a rare chance just before the half-time break from a counter-attack after Chibuike Ohizu broke away clear on goal but his low shot was saved by shot-stopper Hugo Marques in a one-on-one situation.

However, Sekhukhune got their reward five minutes after the break, as Ohizu fired a low shot into the back of the net after getting on the end of Tlotlo Leepile's cross.

Tinkler responded with a double change just after the hour-mark, as Tashreeq Morris replaced Mdantsane and Craig Martin came on for Fagrie Lakay.

The changes gave City a new energy and dimension, as Morris came close to getting the equaliser in the last 20 minutes with a glancing header that missed just wide after a cross by Martin.

The Citizens were desperate to level matters, as five minutes later they made a double substitution, as Mpho Makola replaced Ajagun for fresh legs in midfield while Shane Roberts came on for Bradley Ralani in an attacking move.

With time running out, Nyiko Mobbie missed a glorious chance for Babina Noko in stoppage time with a free header before Nsabata denied Khanyisa Mayo the equaliser for City with a close-range save from a header, as Sekhukhune held on to move up to fifth on the log.

Confirmed line-ups:

Sekhukhune: Nsabata, Mobbie, Jampies, Katsande, Motsepe, Gyimah, Leepile, Maart, Madonsela, Mncube, Ohizu.

Subs: Kapini, Rakhale, Matona, Patjie, Mahlangu, Parusnath, Molaba, Sibanyoni, Shai.

City:  Hugo, Mkhize, Mobara, Fielies, Mashego, Mokeke, Nodada, Ajagun, Ralani, Mdantsane, Lakay.

Subs: Mpdandle, Fasika, Dove, Makola, Morris, Martin, Mokhuoane, Roberts, Mayo.