Bafana squad reduced for Gabon friendly


The clash will take place at the Mbombela Stadium and Kicks off at 20h30.   Captain Steven Pienaar, striker Katlego Mphela, midfielders Oupa Manyisa and Thanduyise Khuboni as well as defender Bongani Khumalo have all been allowed to go home.   The players left after the squad’s training session on Monday evening.   "We are left with one match, having played two already. Initially we called-up a big squad because we had three back to back clashes and wanted to have cover in various positions in case of injuries. We have seen what the five that we released can give us, and now this is a chance to have a look at other players," said Komphela.   "At the same time we also had to reserve some respect to the opposition and not make wholesale changes to our squad. We still need continuity and we believe the players that are remaining will provide the needed balance to tackle Gabon on Friday."   Bafana departs for Nelspruit on Thursday.   The full Bafana Bafana squad to face Gabon:   GOALKEEPERS: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns),  Darren Keet (KV Kortrijk FC, Belgium)   DEFENDERS: Morgan Gould (Kaizer Chiefs), Erick Mathoho (Bloemfontein Celtic), Punch Masenamela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Anele Ngcongca (Racing Genk FC, Belgium), Siboniso Gaxa (Kaizer Chiefs), Siyanda Xulu (Mamelodi Sundowns)   MIDFIELDERS: Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), Teko Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lebohang Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Andile Jali (Orlando Pirates), May Mahlangu (Helsingborg FC, Sweden), Thulani Serero (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands), Mzikayise Mashaba (Free State Stars)    STRIKERS: Siyabonga Nomvete (Moroka Swallows), Tokelo Rantie (Orlando Pirates), Eleazar Rodgers (Santos), Lehlohonolo Majoro (Kaizer Chiefs)     Gabon is expected in Nelspruit on Wednesday.   The full Gabon squad: Didier Ewono Ebang, Anthony Mfa Mezui, Emmanuel Ndong Mba, Edmond Mouele, Ecuele Manga, Remy Ebanega Ekwa, Henry-Junior Ndong, Stevvy Nzambe, Charly Moussono, Merlin KoumbaTadjigora, Cedric Boussougou Moubikou, Franck Engonga Obame, Robert Nsimbi, Alexandra Ndoumbou, Guelor Kanga, Levy Madinda, Landy Jerry Obiang Obiang, Branger Engone, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, Judex Soumouna Lipoukou, Romaric Rogombe, Allen Nono, Axel Meye Me Ndong, Romuald Ntsitsigui    Coach: Paolo Duarte