New-look Amajita squad named for AAG

SA National Teams

The South African U20 national team squad that will take part in the All Africa Games in Morocco this month under caretaker coach Helman Mkhalele has been announced.

After suffering a Group stage exit at the 2019 U20 FIFA World Cup in Poland, only three of the squad members have retained their spots due to unavailability for the continental showpiece.
Mamelodi Sundowns duo Glen Baadjies, Brendon Moloisane and Fezile Gcaba of Pele Pele provides Mkhalele some continuity as he stands in after the exit of Thabo Senong as head coach.
Ireland based midfielder Katelgo Mashigo has earned a maiden call-up along with Southampton academy graduate Siph Mdalose in a new-look squad that face off against the hosts in the Group A opener today at the Stade Moulay Hassan.
"I am very happy with the final squad that we have assembled here for this tournament. We would have loved to have had our experienced players who competed in both the 2019 U-20 Africa Cup of Nations and 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup tournaments, however, they were not available for selection due to club and schooling commitment," Mkhalele said.
"However, having said that, this will also serve as an opportunity for us to assess some of the new players that we have brought in to see as to what they can offer the national U-20s moving forward. 
"We have also roped in players who have worked with coach Molefi Ntseki in the Under-17 level to help fast track their growth in the sport and as national team players. In the end, it is truly up to this group of players to make full use of this opportunity and prove what they can offer at this level."
South Africa have been grouped with hosts Morocco, Nigeria and Burkina Faso.
Amajita 18-man squad in full:
Goalkepers: Glen Baadjies (Mamelodi Sundowns), Buhle Damane (Vitoria Setubal).
Defenders: Brendon Moloisane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Fezile Gcaba (Pele Pele), Siyanda Msani (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sphiwe Nkabinde (Stars of Africa Academy), Thabo Molea (Jomo Cosmos), Mohammed Shahabodies (Stars of Africa Academy).
Midfielders: Anele Maqala (Virginia Sports Academy), Randzilani Ndamuleo (Supersport United), Ofentse Mashiane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Dante Brown (Ajax Cape Town), Katlego Mashigo (Bohemian) Onke Moletshe (Jomo Cosmos), Siph Mdlalose.
Attackers: Katlego Cwinyana (Pele Pele), Sechaba Tsoaela (Virginia Sports Academy), Junior Nare (Bidvest Wits).