2013 Afcon Team of the Tournament


The Super Eagles won their third title by beating Burkina Faso 1-0 in the Final at Soccer City last night, but there is no room in the tournament’s best XI for the scorer, Sunday Mba.

Instead, his strike-partner and top scorer Emmanuel Emenike got the nod, alongside Ghana’s Asamoah Gyan.

Victor Moses, John Obi Mikel, Efe Ambrose and Enyeama make the up the Nigeria contingent, while Burkina Faso have two representatives in Bakary Kone and Player of the Tournament Jonathan Pitroipa.

Ghana, who finished third, also have Wakaso Mubarak in the side, while Cape Verde (Nando Maria Neves) and Mali (Seydou Keita) have one each.

Team of the Tournament
Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)
Bakary Koné (Burkina Faso)
Nando Maria Neves (Cape Verde Islands)
Efe Ambrose (Nigeria)
Jonathan Pitroipa (Burkina Faso)
Wakaso Mubarak (Ghana)
Seydou Keita (Mali)
John Obi Mikel (Nigeria)
Victor Moses (Nigeria)
Asamoah Gyan (Ghana)
Emmanuel Emenike (Nigeria)