Vasco edge Leopards

One second-half goal by Mdabuka and two extra-time strikes by Zeka Karkee and Mbulelo Wambi gave Tony de Nobrega’s men the passport to progress to the semis as the match had to be decided via extra-time after a 1-1 draw.

The visitors started like a house on fire with attacks as early as the seventh minute through Samuel Julies as he rifled his effort straight to the keeper Avhashoni Tshinuna.

In response to the attack Zeca Marques’ men went forward and their movement saw Meshack Maphangule's effort going wide of Hoffman's posts in the eighth minute.

Lidoda Duvha did not waste time in finding the net when the experienced Nyundu blasted home from a set-piece to hand the Limpopo side the lead.

In the 25th minute the home-side continued to push forward in search of their second goal aiming to capitalise on the erratic Vasco defence.

They nearly doubled their lead when Nyundu pounced again in the 37th minute, but his free-kick hit the woodwork with Hoffman beaten.

In the beginning of the second stanza, the Cape side’s Jonathan Armogam's saw his shot going wide off Tshinuna’s posts.

De Nobrega made his substitution when he took Wambi off for Abdul Jacobs and that somehow worked for him as Wandisile Mdabuka managed to level the matters in the 70th minute.

Three minutes later seasoned striker Aleni Lebyane saw his shot failing to give keeper Tshinuna something to work on.

With extra-time seemingly the only way to decide the outcome of the match, Leopards nearly scored a late winner when Nyundu’s free-kick hit the wall after he was fouled outside the box.

In the 99th minute, a strike by the former Moroka Swallows man, Morgan Shivambu put the hosts in the driving seat once again when he finished with ease.

Towards the end of the first-half of extra time, Karkee put the Capetonians ahead and two minutes later, Wambi ensured they consolidate their lead when he scored from a free-kick to make it 3-2.


Black Leopards: Tshinuna, Manana, Munyai, Mahangwahaya, Maphangule (Tefu 91’), Ndou, Nyirinda, Mabotja, Shivambu (Bobe 110’), Mumuni, Nyundu  

Vasco Da Gama: Hoffman, Rowell, Gertse, Mokoena, Mxoyana, Mdabuka, (Julies, Smith 104’), Karkee, Jacobs (Wambi 67’), Lebyane, Armogam