Eight NFD teams qualify for Nedbank Cup

Nedbank Cup

The eight clubs from the GladAfrica Championship that will participate in next year’s Nedbank Cup have been confirmed.

The clubs qualified via the Nedbank Cup qualification competition this past weekend.

The two KwaZulu-Natal clubs Real Kings and Royal Eagles were the first to qualify on Friday afternoon.

Kings advanced after beating Steenberg United 3-1 while Eagles needed penalties to advance against Swallows FC.

READ: Swallows to sign second ex-Chiefs keeper

On Saturday, Ajax Cape Town bounced back from last year’s disappointment when they were eliminated in the qualification stage of the tournament by beating Richards Bay 2-1 in Richards Bay.

Free State Stars lost at home to another side that has been struggling for form in the GladAfrica Championship, TS Sporting. On the same day, Jomo Cosmos advanced after beating University of Pretoria 2-1.

READ: Free State Stars fire Heric

The biggest surprise of the weekend though came from Mbombela United, who eliminated in-form JDR Stars.

On Sunday, defending Nedbank Cup champions TS Galaxy ensured they will get an opportunity to defend their trophy as they beat Cape Umoya 1-0.

READ: Cape Umoya appoint ex-Pirates youth coach

Tshakhuma FC and Uthongathi produced a seven-goal thriller. Uthongathi, current GladAfrica Championship log leaders, advanced 4-3.

Nedbank Cup qualification to the round of 32 comprises all 16 Absa Premiership clubs, eight NFD clubs and eight clubs from the lower leagues.

Qualified clubs (NFD): Real Kings, Royal Eagles, Ajax Cape Town, Mbombela United, TS Sporting, Jomo Cosmos, TS Galaxy, Uthongathi