Downs cruise to Nedbank last eight

Nedbank Cup

Mamelodi Sundowns progressed to the Nedbank Cup quarter-finals with a 4-0 victory over Polokwane City on Wednesday afternoon.

A number of changes from Sundowns saw Rushine De Reuck given his first start while goalkeeper Ricardo Goss, Thapelo Morena, Haashim Domingo and Lesedi Kapinga were also recalled.

It took the Brazilians just ten minutes to go ahead after goalkeeper Tebatso Phoku parried a shot from Domingo into the path of Peter Shalulile, who nestled the top-corner.

Rise and Shine succumbed again three minutes later as possession turnover allowed Lebohang Maboe to run in-behind to apply a simple finish.

Sundowns made it three inside a minute as loss of possession again granted Kermit Erasmus to ran in on the far side of the area and cutback for Kapinga to profit from a spill by Phoku.

The Brazilians afforded City no room to breathe towards the half-hour mark thus added a fourth from the spot through Andile Jali after Kapinga drew a foul near the byline.

Polokwane introduced a change 15 minutes to halftime after Denis Chembezi came on to replace Bongani Nyathi before Phoku back-peddled to deny Shalulile a brace.

A triple substitution from Masandawana upon resumption saw Aubrey Modiba enter for Lyle Lakay, Promise Mkhuma for Shalulile and Keletso Makgalwa replacing Erasmus in the attack.

Sundowns saw a lot of the ball following the midway stage in the second half and could’ve had a fifth from George Maluleka’s rasping strike, but Phoku saved.

Rise and Shine had a chance to get on the score-board inside the last 20 minutes from a loose ball, but Salulani Phiri fluffed before Khusa Myaba went wide from a free-kick.

The Brazilians continued searching for a fifth late on through Maluleka, but Phoku parried as the four first half goals proved enough to set up a quarter-final date with Orlando Pirates.

Confirmed line-ups:

Sundowns: Goss, Morena, Lakay, De Reuck, Nascimento, Maboe, Jali, Domingo, Erasmus, Kapinga, Shalulile

Subs: Mweene, Modiba, Soumahoro, Sirino, Zwane, Maluleka, Makgalwa, Affonso, Mkhuma

Polokwane:  Phoko, Haoseb, Laqwela, Ngcobo, D. Goss, Hlalele, Phiri, Nyathi, Nku, Tlolane, Muyaba.

Subs: Ndlovu, Chembezi, Shange, Ngobe, Mokiti, Masebe, Nkomo, Mahangwahaya