Downs book Nedbank semi-final spot

Nedbank Cup

Mamelodi Sundowns needed extra time to book a spot in the Nedbank Cup semi-finals after a 1-0 win over Highlands Park on Saturday evening.

Sundowns rested Themba Zwane and Andile Jali, as Lyle Lakay, Tiyani Mabunda and Jose Ali Meza earned a recall to the starting line-up.

Highlands were in a spot of bother following the opening minutes after Meza sneaked in behind to get on the end of a cross from the right, which Tapuwa Kapini thwarted.

The Highlands shot-stopper got to work again after 12 minutes as the Zimbabwean got down to prevent Anele Ngcongca’s header nestling into the bottom corner following a corner kick.

After winning a free-kick on the edge of the area, Lakay dusted himself off, stepped up and fired against the post ten minutes to the break.

Highlands had their best chance to go ahead minutes before the halftime break when a through ball from Musa Nyatama released Peter Shalulile, who failed to beat Denis Onyango with a tame shot.

The Lions of the North bombed down the left and a cross found Musa Nyatama, who headed home on 55 minutes but the strike was chalked off after the player strayed offside.

Sundowns had an excellent opportunity to go in front when Sibusiso Vilakazi released Lakay on the left only for the winger to drag wide with the goal in clear sight three minutes later.

Tebogo Langerman became the latest figure to search for the opener with a powerful left-footed shot near the area 12 minutes to the end, but Kapini palmed away.

Pitso Mosimane restructured his attack minutes later, as Meza made way for Keletso Makgalwa whilst the match went to extra time after neither side found the breakthrough.

A defensive lapse from Highlands was to be their undoing as Makgalwa broke free, cut into the area to curl beyond Kapini in the 115th minute after an erorer from Ryan Rae.

Highlands looked to send the match to a penalty shoot-out late on, but Masandawana remained calm to join Bidvest Wits and Baroka FC in the semi-finals.


Highlands: Kapini, Mbhele, Ramoraka, Fransman, Mzava, Mvala, Mbatha, Motsepe, Shalulile, Nyatama, Makhaula.

Subs: Heugh, Munyai, Letsholonyane, Mokoena, Rae, Jooste, Nyembe.

Sundowns: Onyango, Ngcongca, Langerman, Nascimento, Madisha, Kekana, Maboe, Mabunda, Vilakazi, Lakay, Meza.

Subs: Mweene, Makgalwa, Coetzee, Lebusa, Lukhubeni, Ngoma, Arendse.