Chippa book Nedbank last four spot

Nedbank Cup

Chippa United advanced to the Nedbank Cup semi-finals with a 2-1 victory over Richards Bay FC at Sisa Dukashe Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

A clinical finish by Laffor gave the Chilli Boys the lead inside the first five minutes of the match for his first goal for the club. Natal Rich Boys midfielder Moses Mthembu gave the ball straight to the Liberian in attempting to pass the ball back to his keeper and the former Mamelodi Sundowns man buried the ball in the back of the net.

Richards Bay centre-back Austin Dube tried his luck from outside the box but his left-footed shot was brilliantly blocked by Riaan Hanamub. left footed shot from outside the box is blocked.

And then the visitors had to be alert when Augustine Kwem played in Mokhele Maloisane and his shot was bravely impeded by centre-back Brighton Manhire. Maloisane then shot wide after some neat interplay from the home side.

The GladAfrica Championship outfit then won a free-kick in a promising position after Thamsanqa Sangweni was yellow-carded for a bad tackle on Richards Bay central midfielder Paseke, who dusted himself off and stepped up to take the free-kick but his effort was a little high and wide of the left-hand upright.

The DStv Premiership side doubled their lead on the hour mark when Maloisane fired into the bottom left corner after excellent target-man play by Nigerian Kwem in the build-up to set him up.

Kwem then went close himself when his shot from the centre of the box was close, but missed the top right corner after Sizwe Mdlinzo had played the burly striker in.

The Natal Rich Boys were pressing the Chilli Boys up high up the pitch looking for their opening goal. But it was still the top-tier side who were creating the chances.

Kurt Lentjies was guilty of committing a bad foul on Katlego Maphathe, for which he received a yellow card and which gave Richards Bay FC a free-kick in a promising position. Bayzel Goldstone whipped in the set-piece and Siyabonga Celani Vilane rose highest to head home into the bottom right corner.

However, it was a little too late for the KwaZulu-Natala outfit, whose impressive run in the competition came to an end.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chippa: Mtshali, Nhalpo, Mobbie, Mthethwa, Sangweni, Laffor, Mokhele, Kwem, Mdlinzo, Hanamub, Maloisane.

Subs: Watenga, Cezu, Phewa, Jodwana, Manqola, Lentjies, Eva Nga, Damons.

Richards Bay:  Mpakumpaku, Dube, Ndlovu, Zondi, Sekese, Manhire, Zwane, Goldstone, Hlongwa, Mthembu, Ogbonna.

Subs: Mabua, Vulu, Maphakisa, Maphathe, Radebe, Mbanjwa, Vilane.