Chippa advance to Nedbank last eight

Nedbank Cup

Chippa United progressed to the Nedbank Cup quarter-finals following a 2-1 win over Cape Town City in extra-time on Sunday evening.

Tashreeq Morris returned from City’s 1-1 draw against Swallows FC along with Terrence Mashego, while Anthony Laffor was given another start for the Chilli Boys.

Chippa were forced to make a change after just seven minutes when Frederic Nsabiyumva went stretched off and Avela Cezu introduced off the bench.

The Citizens missed a big chance to go in front seconds later from a loose ball around the area, but Mduduzi Mdantsane drilled wide of the near corner of the net.

Chippa didn’t let the missed opportunity from the visitors go unpunished as Augustine Kwem beat the offside trap to go clear before the half-hour mark to apply a composed bottom-corner finish.

City should’ve gone level from a clear chance in the centre of the area by Mdantsane before halftime, but he went straight at goalkeeper Ayanda Mtshali.

A triple substitution from the visitors after halftime had Keanu Cupido, debutant Abdul Jeleel Ajagun and Justin Shonga make their way onto the field.

Chippa should’ve had a second soon following the break from a free-kick on the near side of the area, but Riaan Hanamub dragged wide off the bottom-corner.

Jan Olde Riekerink’s side brought the tie all square midway in the second half with a first-time finish from Ajagun following a loose ball at the near post.

Morris should’ve put City in front from a cutback at the back-post in the last 15 minutes, but Mtshali parried before Andile Mbenyane fluffed a clear opening at the other end, as extra-time followed.

As chances flew both ways, Chippa netted the winner in the latter stages after Bienvenu Eva Nga got in at the near post to convert a cutback and help his side into the last eight.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chippa: Mtshali, Nsabiyumva, Mobbie, Mthethwa, Sangweni, Laffor, Mdlinzo, Mokhele, Kwem, Hanamub, Mbenyane.

Subs: Mazibuko, Lentjies, Jodwana, Eva Nga, Mogakwe, Cezu, Lebitso, Maloisane,  Damons.

City: Leeuwenburgh, Martin, Fielies, Mobara, Mashego, Mokeke, Nodada, Mdantsane, Lakay, Ralani.

Subs: Anderson, Mkhize, Zulu, Makola, Shonga, Cupido,  Ngoma, Potouridis, Ajagun.