Grobler goal enough for SuperSport

The win sees the side from Tshwane into the semi-finals of the cup competition alongside Ajax Cape Town and Vasco da Gama, with Mpumalanga Black Aces and Mamelodi Sundowns set to square off on Sunday.
SuperSport had the first decent effort on goal in the sixth minute when a stunning free-kick from Jeremy Brockie hit the crossbar with the keeper well-beaten.
Arrows, though, took the ascendancy after that and created their first scoring opportunity in the 12th minute when Tebogo Masaole met a cross with a strong header, but saw his ten-yard effort go narrowly wide of the target.
Six minutes later former PSL striker Mabhuti Khenyeza was also in the thick of the action for Arrows meeting a set-piece cross into the box, but his header was superbly stopped by the United keeper.
On the half hour mark SuperSport broke forward and Dove Wome unleashed a powerful shot from distance, but saw his stinging shot saved by Maximilian Mbaevu.
Nkanyiso Mngwengwe should have given the NFD side the lead in the final minute of the half when he met a left-wing set-piece at back post. But his volley struck the side-netting from close range.
The half ended 0-0.
Arrows started the second half positively and came close to finding the opening goal in the 58th minute when Mngwengwe let loose with a stinging long range shot, but Williams produced a good save to deny him.
In the 71st minute SuperSport took the lead after Bradley Grobler latched onto a through-ball from Thusa Phala and finished with aplomb, 1-0.
Arrows tried to fight their way back into the game, but they struggled to break down a resolute United defence.
Instead, the best chance after the goal fell to Brockie in injury time, but he saw his effort stopped by the Arrows keeper.
Still, United held on for the win to progress into the semi-finals of the cup competition.
SuperSport United: Williams, Daniels, Diouf, Khumalo, Mkhabela, Mathebula, Wome (Grobler 60’), Chapman, Phala (Manyama 86’), Nkhatha (Klate 67’), Brockie
Golden Arrows: Mbaeva, Mathiane, Katjiukua, Rooi, Hendricks, Fikizolo (Mkhize 82’), Dube (Cele 47’), Mngwengwe, Hotto, Masaole (Nxumalo 71’), Khenyeza