SuperSport crowned MTN8 champs


SuperSport United claimed their third MTN8 title with a 1-0 win over Highlands Park in the final on Saturday evening.

Both sides rolled out the big guns, with Peter Shalulile leading the charge for Highlands and Bradley Grobler with Thamsanqa Gabuza on the opposite end.

Highlands provided the first danger on six minutes as Mokeke Mogaila crossed for Mothobi Mvala, who drew a point-blank save off SuperSport shot-stopper Ronwen Williams.

Injury threw the Tembisa-side’s game plan to jeopardy, as Wayde Jooste replaced Lesenya Ramoraka on the half-hour mark, although they continued to have the edge on SuperSport.

However, last year’s finalists drew the first blood on the stroke of halftime when Grobler connected with Teboho Mokoena’s pin-point cross to head into far corner.

The Lions of the North were renewed right from the break with United forced to early bit of defending, whilst neither side instituted changes during the break. Matsatsantsa though remained on the move with pace down the wings as Aubrey Modiba and Mokoena in particular caused all sorts of issues.

Highlands added more fire power with 66 minutes played as Mogaila made way for Zimbabwean international Tendai Ndoro.

Shots flew in from either side late on, while Reneilwe Letsholonyane came on to face his old side after coming on for Luckyboy Mokoena in the final 15 minutes.

Despite the flurry of chances at either end, the Tshwane outfit claimed their third title, avenging last year’s heart breaking defeat to Cape Town City in Durban.


Highlands: Ngobeni, Mokoena, Munyai, Msimango, Rae, Ramoraka, Mahlangu, Mbatha, Shalulile, Mvala, Mogaila.

Subs: Heugh, Fransman, Letsholonyane, Hlongwa, Jooste, Motlafi, Ndoro.

SuperSport: Williams, Nhlapo, Modiba, Mbule, Daniels, Kekana, Furman, Mokoena, Gabuza, Rusike, Grobler.

Subs: Pule, Fleurs, Khumalo, Webber, Qalinge, Mnyamane, Mahachi.