Downs to add to Chiefs agony

MTN8 2021

Saturday’s MTN8 final will provide further agony for Kaizer Chiefs as the reality of just how much Mamelodi Sundowns have come to rule football in this country continues to sink in.

Sundowns face Cape Town City in the MTN8 final at Moses Mabhida on Saturday evening.

It is a decider that doesn't involve Chiefs but one that they will take interest in considering just how much Sundowns has dwarfed them in the subject of success and pride in the PSL era years.

If the Brazilians occupy the podium on Saturday evening as champions, then they will have reached a dozen trophies since Chiefs last lifted silverware.

Scroll through the gallery to see which SA teams previously reached the group stage of the Champions League

Sundowns will have clinched their 12th title in this period.

The Yellow Nation counts five league titles, two Nedbank Cups, two Telkom KnockOut trophies, the CAF Champions League and the CAF Super Cup in their shiny trophy cabinet as silverware added since Stuart Baxter won Chiefs their last trophy on May 9, 2015.

The only piece of silverware that has eluded Sundowns through the last decade is what they are playing – the MTN8 – which when they last won in 2007 was known as the SAA Supa8.

Also, of significance for Chiefs on Saturday is that this will be trophy number 26 that they have played for and failed to win since their last trophy success.

Through their history which stretches back to their formation in 1970, this is now their longest ever wait for silverware, well into season number seven.

Only two trophies – the league and the Nedbank Cup – remain at stake for Chiefs this season.

Then also of importance is the fact that another trophy addition for Sundowns will take them to 22 titles in the PSL era years while Chiefs remain stuck on 20.

That will leave Sundowns on to yet another season which will end with them still holding on to the title of being the most successful club in the PSL era years.

Worse for Chiefs is that The Brazilians are already cruising in the league this season on to their fifth title in a row.

Ntshangase set to finally make debut?

McGregor congratulates Parker on Chiefs record

Mayoyo blasts 'toxic' Polokwane