Sundowns drop from top spot

Mamelodi Sundowns

Sundowns missed a big chance over the weekend to strengthen their grip at the top, as City’s astounding second-half display put the brakes on Bidvest Wits' bid to reclaim the title.

Two changes in Mosa Lebusa and Emiliano Tade is how Sundowns lined up, while City instigated three in the form of Thamsanqa Mkhize, Edmilson Dove and Siphelele Mthembu.

Sundowns were in front on 13 minutes when Lebohang Maboe finished off Tade’s perfectly weighted through ball.

Uruguayan Gaston Sirino measured a second a little later, but Peter Leeuwenburgh palmed off the 18-yard metre attempt.

Mthembu dragged a big chance from five metres wide of goal following a defence-splitting pass from Erasmus on 23 minutes, as City’s voice grew slowly and quietly.

The comeback though didn’t materialise despite a few near-misses from among others Dove and Erasmus as the first half came to a halt.

Neither side instituted changes following the start of the second half, with City having their work cut out for them.

With 52 minutes gone, the Citizens were back in the mix when Erasmus smacked home from inside the box following Zukile Kewuti’s half-hearted attempt.

Masandwana were inches away from restoring their advantage when Themba Zwane’s left-foot effort smacked onto the post later on.

Leeuwenburgh then made an incredible save from point-blank following Tebogo Langerman’s powerful shot on 68 minutes.

Langerman missed another good chance to get on the scoreboard, but the dismal finishing continued as he shot over the top.

City stole the points in the 87th minute through a curling left-footed free-kick from substitute Chris David to go third on the standings.


City: Leeuwenburgh, Mkhize, Fielies, Edmilson, Seedat, Mokeke, Erasmus (Martin 85'), Norodien (David 69'), Kewuti, Ralani, Mthembu (Links 61')

Subs: Stephens, Graham, Cupido, Modise, Links, Martin, David

Sundowns:  Mweene, Ngcongca, Coetzee, Lebusa, Langerman, Kekana, Mabunda, Sirino (Mahlambi 74'), Zwane, Maboe (Jali 86'), Tade (Laffor 91')

Subs:  Pieterse, Jali, Mahlambi, Laffor, Laffor, Madisha, Lakay, Arendse