Chiefs out to defend Maize Cup crown

The four participants of the one-day friendly tournament have been confirmed, with Amakhosi aiming to fend off challenges from Free State Stars, Chippa United and ABC Motsepe League outift Buya Msuthu for the trophy.

READ: 'Stiga' advises Chiefs' new No 10

Chiefs were crowned champions of the third edition of the tournament, which kicked off in 2015 - then known as the Bokone Bophirima Maize Triangle Challenge – as Platinum Stars beat Mpumalanga Black Aces, Township Rollers and Bloemfontein Celtic to the inaugural title.

In 2016, Orlando Pirates joined the competition and managed to beat Dikwena in the one-match edition of the cup following Mpumalanga Black Aces' renaming to Cape Town City and subsequent relocation.

Last year though, the Glamour Boys outsmarted Rollers before seeing off Ea Lla Koto in the final with a 1-0 scoreline.

READ: Chiefs legends endorse Billiat signing

With The Chilli Boys and Buya Msuthu now making their debuts in the competition, it will be a stern test for Chiefs, who have recently welcomed the signing of Khama Billiat, as well as ex-Buya Msuthu left-back Letlhogonolo Mirwa, to defend their crown.

The tournament is set to take place on July 14, with the venue set to be announced at the official launch later this evening.

Let the breaking news come to you! Sign up for KICK OFF SMS