Spirited Leopards sink Chiefs


Kaizer Chiefs missed the chance to climb into the top eight following a 2-1 loss to Black Leopards on Wednesday afternoon.

Chiefs started Darrel Matsheke, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Happy Mashiane and Lazarous Kambole against Leopards, who were without star forward Rodney Ramagalela.

It took the Amakhosi just ten minutes to make the breakthrough when Leonardo Castro arrived late in the area to drill home a loose ball after Jonas Mendes did well to thwart Mashiane.

From a similar scenario, Lidoda Duvha nearly had the equaliser within two minutes but goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma was well on guard to thwart a rasping strike from Tumelo Khutlang.

Ovidy Karuru, who bagged a brace in the reverse fixture, came close to haunting his former team again from a corner-kick just before the half-hour mark but he headed over the top of the near post area.

Lidoda Duvha continued to look for an equaliser and found it with three minutes to the break after Tiklas Thutlwa charged in at the back-post to direct a low cross into the far corner of the net.

The Amakhosi emerged for the second half recharged and saw Castro head a free-kick from Mashiane off the post before a powerful shot from Bernard Parker forced Jonas Mendes to a save.

Then, a substitute followed from the Soweto giants right on 60 minutes, as Reeve Frosler slotted in for Mashiane.

However, Lidoda Duvha took the lead after three minutes as Thutlwa helped himself to a double with a header in the area following a neat one-two move.

The host didn’t drop their heads following the front-foot and solid piece of defending from Mendes in particular denied Sabelo Radebe and Chiefs a way back.

This proved the catalyst to their victory that moved them within three points off second-bottom Chippa United, whilst derailed Chiefs’s top eight hopes.

Have a look at all the PSL award nominees for this season below:

Confirmed line-ups:

Leopards: Mendes, Sampson, Mashoene, Masia, Gyimah, Maluleke, Mthethwa, Thutlwa, Karuru, Mathenjwa, Khutlang.

Subs: Muleka, Makobela, Khumalo, Mokoena, Abubakar, Masalesa, Ndlovu , Douhadji, Anas.

Chiefs: Bvuma, Cardoso, Mathoho, Ngezana, Zulu, Matsheke, Ngcobo, Parker, Mashiane, Kambole Castro.

Subs: Akpeyi, Mphahlele, Agay, Baccus, Frosler, Sasman, Ntiya-Ntiya, Radebe.

Get and Stay connected to DStv to enjoy 18 days of incredible football as we get close to crowning the inaugural DStv Premiership champions, finalise CAF inter-club participants and find out who will be relegated from the top-flight!

Downs crowned DStv Prem champions