Wasteful Downs crash out of CAF CL

CAF Champions League

Mamelodi Sundowns crashed out of the CAF Champions League after drawing 1-1 with Petro de Luanda in the second leg of their quarter-final.

Rushine De Reuck, Neo Maema, Lebohang Maboe and Surprise Ralani started in the hope of helping Masandawana overturn the first-leg deficit.

Sundowns could’ve had a fast start with just eight minutes played as Themba Zwane obtained possession high up the pitch and set Peter Shalulile up for a strike, but the Namibian went wide.

It was all the Brazilians a little thereafter when Thapelo Morena beat one challenge around the area following a combination with Maema and shaved the upright off a promising attempt.

Another opening were presented to the Tshwane giants just inside the half-hour mark as Shalulile had an effort from point-blank range parried away by the opposite number.

Sundowns were given a penalty on the stroke of halftime after the referee consulted the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) and noted a foul on Zwane, who then scooped the effort against the upright.

Click through the gallery below to see the top-ranked sides in Africa.

Masandawana were ahead four minutes after the break as goalkeeper Wellington Lima parried Lyle Lakay’s free-kick into the path of Brian Onyango, who tapped in from close-range.

Petro looked to have levelled minutes later with a header from Joaquim Balanga, but it was overturned following a foul by the goal-scorer on Denis Onyango.

More drama from VAR followed when a foul by Andile Jali on Gleison Moreira 64 minutes in led to a penalty and captain Tiago Azulao stepped up and converted the resultant spot-kick.

The Brazilians response a few seconds later saw them introduce Lesedi Kapinga in for Ralani and Pavol Safranko introduced in favour of Zwane.

Sundowns now had to dig deep to keep their continental campaign alive, but Petro was able to contain their every threat with a lot of men behind the ball.

At the end, Masandawana bowed out of the tournament after they couldn’t penetrate the stubborn defence of Petro who advanced to the semi-finals for their first time ever.

Confirmed line-ups:

Sundowns: D.Onyango, De Reuck, B. Onyango, Lakay, Morena, Jali, Maema, Maboe, Ralani, Zwane, Shalulile.

Subs: Mweene, Modiba, Lebusa, Mokoena, Kekana, Mkhulise, Sirino, Kapinga, Safranko