Pitso leads Ahly to back-to-back CL titles

CAF Champions League

Al Ahly won their tenth CAF Champions League title with a ruthless 3-0 victory over Kaizer Chiefs, who had Happy Mashiane sent off on the stroke of half-time.

Al Ahly were dominating possession as expected, but Chiefs were looking resolute in defence.

With a quarter of an hour gone, Willard Katsande played a ball from deep and found Reeve Frosler on the left flank in Al Ahly's half. The defender quickly saw Samir Nurkovic in space and the Serbian hit a curling effort into the arms of the keeper.

The Red Devils were exerting the pressure and in the 24th minute, Amr El Soleya headed the ball into the path of Mohamed Magdy Afsha, who unleashed an effort but it went wide.

Two minutes later, Hussein El Shahat gave away a free-kick after being fouled by Nurkovic. Ali Maaloul delivered from the left with Taher Mohamed's header missing to the left.

Chances were few and far between but in the 33rd minute Hussein El Shahat shot from range and the ball went wide.

Right on the stroke of half-time, Amakhosi were dealt a big blow as Happy Mashiane was sent off for a second yellow card, which left them with an uphill task going into the second half.

Clicked through the gallery below to see the top-ranked sides in Africa.

Despite the introduction of Billiat, Al Ahly took the lead in the 53rd minute. Akram Tawfik released Mohamed Sherif clear on goal with an exceptional through ball and the Ahly striker made no mistake with the chance, thundering the ball down the middle and past Daniel Akpeyi, who stood little chance.

Pitso Mosimane's side doubled their lead in the 64th minute. This time, Sherif turned provider as he laid the ball off to Afsha, who produced a deadly finish into the top right corner.

Things went from bad to worse for Stuart Baxter's men as they found themselves 3-0 down in the 74th minute when Sherif once again provided the assist as Amr El Soleya finished with aplomb into the right corner.

Chiefs were well and truly beaten and it was a case of damage limitation for the Soweto giants, who were looking to prevent the scoreline from becoming even more embarrassing.

And in the end, Ahly ran out comfortable winners, fully capitalising on their numerical disadvantage to run out comfortable winners and dash Chiefs' hopes of a first CAF Champions League title.

Confirmed line-ups:

Chiefs: Akpeyi, Frosler, Mphahlele, Mathoho, Cardoso, Katsande, Blom, Ngcobo, Mashiane, Parker, Nurkovic

Subs: Bvuma, Ngezana, Sasman, Zulu, Akumu, Ntiya-Ntiya, Kambole, Castro, Billiat.

Al Ahly: El Shenway, Maaloul, Ayman, Benoun, Akram, Hamdy, El Soulia, El Shahat, Afsha, Taher, Sherif.

Ahly star: Chiefs have an advantage!

Pirates legend wants star for Chiefs

Why Chiefs will not beat Pitso's Ahly