Ellis announces final Banyana squad for AWCON


Banyana Banyana head coach Desiree Ellis has named her final 23-member squad to participate in next month's AWCON tournament.

An initial 33-member squad had been training in Johannesburg from 10 June with Ellis alongside her technical team whittling down the squad to 23 players.

Scroll through the gallery to see South Africa's all-time leading goalscorers in AFCON qualifying

The final squad announced at SAFA House on Monday features a mixture of experience and youth.

Familiar faces such as Janine Van Wyk, AC Milan's Refiloe Jane and Atletico Madrid's Thembi Kgatlana retain their places in the squad while striker Gabriela Salgado was ruled out due to injury.

19-year-old Nthabiseng Majiya comes in as the youngest member of the squad while Linda Mothlalo and Hilda Magaia will join up with the squad later this week.

The 2022 Awcon will begin on Saturday, 2 July. Banyana will take on defending Champions Nigeria on 4 July. The two African powerhouses were the finalists in the last Awcon in 2018 where Banyana were defeated 4-3 on penalties.

Full Banyana Banyana squad:

Goalkeepers: Andile Dlamini, Kaylin Swart, Regirl Ngobeni

Defenders: Karabo Dhlamni, Lebohang Ramalepe, Bambanani Mbane, Bongeka Gumede, Noko Matlou

Midfielders: Refiloe Jane, Nomvula Kgoale, Linda Mothlalo, Thaela Smit, Khoilosa Biyana, Amogelang Motau, Robyn Moodaly, Sibulele Holweni

Forwards: Jermaine Seoposenwe, Melinda Kgadeiete, Noxolo Cesane, Nthabiseng Majila, Thembi Kgatlana, Hilda Magaia

Standby: Kebotseng Moletsane, Tiisetso Makhubela, Thubelihle Shamase

Ellis Banyana headache ahead of final Awcon squad shortlist

Netherlands outclass Banyana Banyana

Banyana seal ticket to AWCON