Ellis names COSAFA squad

South Africa will this year host the annual COSAFA Women's Champs for the first time, with the tournament set to be staged in Port Elizabeth from 12-22 September.

As defending champions, Banyana will be expected as hosts to show their grit and reclaim the trophy they lifted in Zimbabwe last year.

Thus, Ellis has named a formidable squad that boasts both local and international-based stars, with US-based stalwart Janine van Wyk retaining the captaincy.

Lithuania-based striker Leandra Smeda has been left out of the squad, due to her commitments in the UEFA Women's Champions League.

Following her recent move to Australia's Women's League, Refiloe Jane keeps her place in the side. However, compatriot Rhoda Mulaudzi has since missed out.

Banyana COSAFA squad:

GK: Kaylin Swart (Menlo College USA), Roxanne Barker (USC Ladies), Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DEF: Lebohang Ramalepe (Ma-Indies), Nothando Vilakazi (Falcons FC), Janine van Wyk (c) (Houston Dash, USA), Bambanani Mbane (Bloem Celtic), Regina Mogolola (AmaTuks)

MID: Kgaelebane Mohlakoana (Bloem Celtic), Kholosa Biyana (UKZN), Refiloe Jane (Canberra United, Australia), Thato Letsoso (UJ), Nompumelelo Nyandeni (JVW), Hildah Magaia (TUT-PTA), Linda Motlhalo, Thembi Kgatlana (Houston Dash, USA)

STR: Jermaine Seoposenwe (UWC), Melinda Kgadiete (Bloem Celtic), Chantelle Esau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Noko Matlou (Ma-Indies)