Bafana look to end Nigeria bogey


In the first of two matches this week in honour of the great Madiba – SA will also take on Burkina Faso in the inaugural Nelson Mandela Sports and Culture Day at FNB Stadium on Saturday – Gordon Igesund’s side will have the massive challenge of trying to put one over the Super Eagles.

Nigeria claimed their third continental title earlier this year, defeating Burkina Faso in the AFCON final at FNB Stadium. Returning the team to the scene of their recent triumph will bring back good memories for coach Stephen Keshi.

The Eagles also have predominantly good memories of playing against Bafana Bafana, with the West Africans very much the dominant team in the rivalry. In seven meetings of the sides down the years, they boast five wins compared to just one for SA.

However, the good news for Igesund and his side is that Bafana’s lone win against Nigeria was in the Nelson Mandela Challenge back in 2004. On that occasion, South Africa won 2-1 in Johannesburg.

It is the second successive year in which Bafana are taking on the reigning African champions for the Mandela Challenge; last year they lost 1-0 to Zambia at FNB Stadium, with Collins Mbesuma scoring the only goal.

Overall, Bafana have seven wins, four draws and seven losses in 18 previous Mandela Challenge matches. Their last win was over Norway (2-1) in the 2009 edition.

SA v Nigeria – previous meetings
1994 World Cup qualifier, 10/10/1992, Lagos – Nigeria 4-0 South Africa
1994 World Cup qualifier, 16/01/1993, Johannesburg – South Africa 0-0 Nigeria
2000 AFCON second round, 10/02/2000, Lagos – South Africa 0-2 Nigeria
2004 AFCON first round, 31/01/2004, Monastir – Nigeria 4-0 South Africa
2004 Friendly, 17/11/2004, Johannesburg – South Africa 2-1 Nigeria
2010 World Cup/AFCON qualifier, 01/06/2008, Abuja – Nigeria 2-0 South Africa
2010 World Cup/AFCON qualifier, 06/09/2008, Port Elizabeth – South Africa 0-1 Nigeria

Nelson Mandela Challenge history

1994 South Africa 2-1 Zambia
1995 South Africa 1-1 Argentina
1996 South Africa 2-3 Brazil
1997 South Africa 0-2 Netherlands
1998 South Africa 2-1 Egypt
1999 South Africa 1-0 Sweden
2000 South Africa 0-0 France
2002 South Africa 1-1 Senegal – Senegal won 4-1 on penalties
2003 South Africa 2-1 Costa Rica
2004 South Africa 2-1 Nigeria
2005 South Africa 2-3 Senegal
2006 South Africa 0-1 Egypt
2007 South Africa 0-1 USA
2008 South Africa 3-2 Cameroon
2009 South Africa 2-1 Norway
2010 South Africa 0-1 USA
2011 South Africa 1-1 Cote d’Ivoire
2012 South Africa 0-1 Zambia