Jordaan excited by Bafana’s award winners

A number of players departed the national team camp ahead of their opening COSAFA Cup clash this weekend to attend the annual end-of-season ceremony held in Sandton.

Maritzburg United trio Siphesihle Ndlovu, Lebogang Maboe and Siyanda Xulu were all excused from coach Stuart Baxter’s preparations as they each bagged accolades for their efforts this past season.

Ndlovu and Maboe each bagged two trophies, while Xulu, who was also named captain of the national side last week, picked up the award for best defender in the league.

Jordaan, who was re-elected unopposed as the new association president over the weekend, has congratulated all the nominees and hopes the triumphant trio rub positively off on the rest of the squad. 

“Congratulations to all the winners and to those nominated but lost, I would like to say being nominated is great recognition already and you must walk tall,” Jordaan told the SAFA website.

“I am excited at those who left the COSAFA camp to come and attend the ceremony. I hope their success will lift the mood in the team even higher and propel them to do well against their opponent on Sunday."

The former Nelson Mandela Bay mayor also believes the confidence of the award winners will aid team's chances in the upcoming 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers in September.

"To top it all, these are young players, which means the future for Bafana Bafana is very bright," he added.

"We are also confident that their performance in the domestic league will rub off in the national team during qualification for the 2019 AFCON tournament.”