Image courtesy of ZIFA

Zim name six SA-based stars in AFCON squad

African Football

Zimbabwe have named six South African-based players in their final squad for next month's Africa Cup of Nations tournament.

Warriors coach Norman Mapeza has named his 23-man squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations but will be without star man Khama Billiat, who announced his retirement from international football earlier this year.

However, six fellow South African-based players have made the final selection, including SuperSport United's Onismor Bhasera and Kudakwashe Mahachi, JDR Stars' Ishmael Wadi and the Venda Academy duo of Godknows Murwira and Gerald Takwara.

Former Kaizer Chiefs star Knowledge Musona is also included alongside other international stars such as Teenage Hadebe and Tino Kadwere.

Scroll through the gallery to see the leading goalscorers from the 2021 AFCON qualifiers

Zimbabwe's 23-man squad for the 2021 CAF Africa Cup of Nations:

Goalkeepers: Petros Mhari (FC Platinum), Martin Mapisa (FC Zamora, Spain), Talbert Shumba (Free State Stars, South Africa)

Defenders: Peter Muduwa (Highlanders), Alec Mudimu (Torpedo Kutaisi, Georgia), Takudzwa Chimwemwe (Nkana, Zambia), Jordan Zemura (FC Bournemouth, England), Godknows Murwira, Gerald Takwara (Venda Football Academy, South Africa), Teenage Hadebe (Houston Dynamo, USA), Bruce Kangwa (Azam, Tanzania), Onismor Bhasera (SuperSport United, South Africa)

Midfielders: Kelvin Madzongwe (FC Platinum), Thabani Kamusoko (Zesco United, Zambia), Never Tigere (Azam, Tanzania), Ishmael Wadi (JDR Stars, South Africa), Kudakwashe Mahachi (SuperSport United, South Africa), Kundai Benyu (Vestri, Iceland)

Strikers: Admiral Muskwe (Luton Town, England), Prince Dube (Azam, Tanzania), David Moyo (Hamilton Academia, Scotland), Knowledge Musona (Al-Tai, Saud Arabia), Tinotenda Kadewere (Olympique Lyon, France).

Mosimane praised by CAFCL rival

Sundowns backed to top CAF CL group

Pitso predicts Bucs' CAFCC chances