Baxter confirms final AFCON squad


Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has confirmed his trimmed-down 23-man Africa Cup of Nations finals squad.

Baxter on Sunday announced the players he will be entrusting to carry the nations hopes when they descend upon the continental finals in Egypt later this month.

Bafana initially had a 28-man provisional squad training in Johannesburg since Monday, but CAF rules allow for only 23 players to be registered for the international showpiece.

Two players had already been withdrawn - Montpellier winger Keagan Dolly, due to injury, and Mamelodi Sundowns defender Rivaldo Coetzee, who failed to report for camp after being afforded some time off to attend to his "criticially ill" mother.

Nonetheless, the British tactician forged ahead with the 26 players at his disposal, and has since made the tough call to cut three hopefuls.

Ben Motshwari, Fortune Makaringe and Kermit Erasmus have missed out.

Bafana will on Monday depart for Dubai, where they will host their final preparation camp which includes a friendly encounter agianst Ghana on June 15, before moving on to Cairo ahead of their opening AFCON clash against Ivory Coast on June 24.

Bafana's full AFCON squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams, Bruce Bvuma

Defenders: Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Sifiso Hlanti, Thamsanqa Mkhize, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Innocent Maela, Daniel Cardoso

Midfielders: Bongani Zungu, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Hlompho Kekana, Tiyani Mabunda, Thulani Serero, Thembinkosi Lorch, Lebogang Maboe, Themba Zwane

Forwards: Percy Tau, Lebo Mothiba, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Lars Veldwijk