Bafana's road to AFCON 2021 revealed


Bafana Bafana have learned the road they will have to travel in order to qualify for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations.

CAF held the draw for the next continental showpiece at their headquarters in Cairo on Thursday evening, just hours before the 2019 AFCON final between Senegal and Algeria.

This is due to qualifiers set to commence as early as October this year, with the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers also expected to kick-off in 2020.

Bafana were placed in Pot 2 - an upgrade from their previous grouping ahead of this year's tournament, and have since been drawn in Group C alongside Ghana and Sudan, with the winner between Mauritius and Sao Tome in a preliminary round play-off set to join them.

There are several mouthwatering encounters to look forward to throughout the campaign, but perhaps most notably is in Group H, where COSAFA rivals Zimbabwe, Zambia and Botswana have been pitted against 2019 finalists Algeria.

The top two sides in each of the 12 groups will qualify for the finals of the 24-team 2021 AFCON, which will be hosted by Cameroon.

Full AFCON qualifying groups:

Group A: Mali, Guinea, Namibia, Liberia/Chad

Group B: Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, South Sudan/Seychelles

Group C: Ghana, South Africa, Sudan, Mauritius/Sao Tome

Group D: Congo DR, Gabon, Angola, Djibouti/Gambia

Group E: Morocco, Mauritania, Central African Republic, Burundi

Group F: Cameroon, Cape Verde, Mozambique, Rwanda

Group G: Egypt, Kenya, Togo, Comoros

Group H: Algeria, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana

Group I: Senegal, Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Eswatini

Group J: Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania, Equatorial Guinea

Group K: Cote D'Ivoire, Niger, Madagascar, Ethiopia

Group L: Nigeria, Benin, Sierra Leone, Lesotho