Ellis names Banyana squad for Jan friendlies

The match against Netherlands, on January 19, will be the Winnie Madikizela-Mandela Inauguration Challenge at Cape Town Stadium. Three days later, the senior women's team will face Sweden at the same venue.

Ellis has called up seven players who were not part of the squad that played at the Africa Women's Cup of Nations in Ghana recently. Victoria Murua, Molatelo Sebata (First Touch Academy, Limpopo), Karabo Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns, Gauteng), Kholosa Biyana (University of KZN, KwaZulu-Natal), Kelso Peskin (Lamar University, USA), Hilda Magaia (TUT-PTA, Gauteng) and Rhoda Mulaudzi (Canberra United, Australia) have all been called up.

Banyana will be using the matches to prepare for the World Cup, which will be played in France from June 7 to July 7. Players can use these two friendly matches to convince Ellis that they deserve a place in the squad that will take part in the showpiece.

“We always look at players raising their hands and if they do then we need to see how they cope in camp and against better opposition,” Ellis told SAFA's website.

“The players know that their places in the squad are not for keeps and need to consistently keep the levels high to remain in the squad as there are players not in the team and working hard to get a look in. The whole year we have given players opportunities and we will consistently do that. We have a couple of months before the start of the World Cup and a lot can happen – loss of form, injury, or players unavailable due to other reasons. So it is important to always have enough cover for every position.”

Banyana, meanwhile, will also play against the USA on May 12 at Levi's Stadium in Carlifornia.


Goalkeepers: Andile Dlamini, Kaylin Swart, Roxanne Barker, Victoria Muroa.

Defenders: Lebogang Ramalepe, Nothando Vilakazi, Janine van Wyk, Noko Matlou, Bambanani Mbane, Tiisetso Makhubela, Koketso Tlailane, Karabo Dhlamini.

Midfielders: Mamello Makhabane, Leandra Smeda, Mpumi Nyandeni, Linda Motlhalo, Busisiwe Ndimeni, Refiloe Jane, Molatelo Sebata, Kholosa Biyana, Hildah Magaia.

Strikers: Thembi Kgatlana, Kelso Peskin, Amanda Mthandi, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Rhoda Mulaudzi.